Various Things

  • I had a fight with the duvet cover this morning. I won. The duvet, with a nice clean blue and green cover, is lying placidly on the bed.
  • I am going out for lunch in about 30 minutes with Diane. I feel like eating pizza or pasta today. I hope she does but if she doesn’t, it is no big thing. Food is food.
  • It is getting closer to my fly-off-to-North Carolina day. I haven’t actually done anything practical but I have lists…
  • I got to meet G., Fred’s ex wife a few days ago. She and his other daughter came to see Diane and we all went out for dinner together. If I had to describe her in one word, I would say discontented. I wonder how she would describe me in one word! Ha!
  • Actually, I am wondering how *I* would describe myself in one word… It depends when I think about myself, I guess. Today so far is being a good day so my word would be "coping." Which reminds me I have an appointment to talk again to Judy, the new talk therapy person on Friday. I like her. She is practical and pragmatic.
  • I have been doing some cooking for myself. Yesterday I made macaroni cheese. It was OK but I won’t make it again.

Anything that’s human is mentionable, and anything that is mentionable can be more manageable. When we can talk about our feelings, they become less overwhelming, less upsetting, and less scary. The people we trust with that important talk can help us know that we are not alone. ~Fred Rogers (Mr. Rogers)

 

You are not happy because you are well. You are well because you are

happy. You are not depressed because trouble has come to you, but

trouble has come to you because you are depressed. You can change

your thoughts and feelings, and then the outer things will come to

correspond, and indeed there is no other way of working.

— Emmet Fox

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
August 29, 2012

okay, coping is a good word for this particular time. one of these days you will get back to living. it just takes time. prayers friday goes well for you. take care,

Good question that:how would any of us describe ourselves in one word. I don`t know you very long but I`m guessing that the `long term`you is open-minded-a gentle, live-and-let live sort of person. But that`s too many words, of course. As for the short term, in the seemingly endless and numbing world of grief, coping is a good enough place to be. Do you think Fred`s ex was always discontented?

August 29, 2012

Maybe that’s why she was his Ex. I’ve been thinking about you and your talk therapist and wondered how it went.

Oh macaroni cheese is my favourite meal. 🙂

Pratical and pragmatic…I like that character assessment and think I would feel comfortable speaking with such a person, too 🙂

August 29, 2012

Discontented is such a wonderfully neutral word for somebody who is probably grinding away at everything and feeling bitter and twisted. Of course, I could be wrong…

August 29, 2012

ryn: I got one at Christmas… my Aunt got me some software I couldn’t use for Christmas and so I returned it and got a Kindle instead. I have the Fire and LOVE it. Of course, right now it’s a very expensive paper weight since I have no books on it that I haven’t read!! I’m hoping to get gift cards for Christmas this year!

August 29, 2012

Now you have me thinking about what one word would be a good description for me! I’m really glad you defeated that duvet cover. :o) !! hugs, Nicky

August 29, 2012

The one word description thing went around on FB several years ago. It was very interesting. My boss, at the time, described me as organized. Only nice thing (I guess it’s nice) she ever said to me. (Well, maybe that’s a slight exaggeration) I need a new duvet. I may have to ask for battle tips. LOL!

Organized. That’s my word.

August 29, 2012

🙂 – – – –

August 30, 2012

It’s always nice to vent or talk to another person. I can’t wait to hear about your trip to North Carolina. I hope there are no hurricanes while you are there.

August 31, 2012

Note for VeronicaCorningstone if there’s any way she ever happens to see it – did you know that you can get FREE books for the kindle from Amazon? There’s a Top 100 list for both paid and free E-books updated multiple times a day – open it up, flick through the list and see if there’s anything there that takes your interest. I have about 200 on mine now and I only BOUGHT 2!(hugs)