Dentist, TV and Books

Last night I got together all my stuff for a visit to the expensive dentist this morning, only to find that I have mislaid the directions and couldn’t remember the exact time of the appointment. I would have called their office to check except that when I realized this, it was late in the evening. So, Fred looked up the phone number for me and I thought I would call them this morning, ask for directions and admit I was so scatterbrained, I couldn’t remember the time.

However, beating myself up over being so careless kept me awake a lot of the night. And then suddenly I realized that I didn’t have to go at all. The morning after I went to my usual dentist, the slight zinging pain I had noticed when something cold hit my tooth was gone. Now, one of the things my dentist suggested was to wait and see what would happen over time because he could find nothing to show why I was in pain. It wasn’t a bad pain but it was there so I vetoed that.

However, since the pain went away, I didn’t really need to go right now. So, when I called the office of the expensive dentist a few minutes ago, I told them who I was, that I had an appointment this morning which I was cancelling since I was no longer in pain. And I said if the pain came back, I would call and reschedule. Such a feeling of relief! This told me it was the right move.
So, did anyone else watch Project Runway last night? I felt sorry for the girl who was sent home and I felt for sure it would have been the other one who produced the skin-tight blue dress with ragged tatters {done deliberately} cascading from the back. But, apparently, a badly-made dress trumped one decorated with a tattered train that caused the model to stumble… And of course, the the woman who was not sent home will make for much better {Umm, I guess I mean controversial} television that the ordinary one who was sent home.

I enjoy Project Runway a lot. I like to see the trials and tribulations of actually making a piece of clothing. When I was in college many years ago, I did a lot of pattern construction and costume making. I was most impressed by the dress that won. It looked as if he had merely draped a lovely piece of supremely drapeable fabric around his model with enormous success, but since I have done a bit of that in my time, I knew it was much more than that to get that lovely effect.
I am reading World without End by Ken Follet. It is a follow-up to Pillars of the Earth which is a book I really enjoyed. This one is a interesting-people rich as the first one and, like the first one, I feel it is a book that one can read and then reread. I am also reading mysteries by Donna Leon. They are set in Venice and I am fascinated by them. There are interesting characters ongoing from book to book. The central character Guido Brunelli. is an upper-level policeman. Over the course of the books I have come to know Paola, his wife, Raffi and Ciara, his children, Vianello, one of his colleagues with intelligence, and my favorite character, Segnorina Elletra, a police secretary who adept at hacking into computer sites that are thought to be secure!

QUOTATIONS:

"Step by step. I can’t think of any other way of accomplishing anything."

Michael Jordan

If you have the courage to begin, you have the courage to succeed.

— David Viscott

Log in to write a note
November 15, 2007

Wow, how wonderful that you don’t have to go to the expensive dentist after all! What a great way to start the day! hugs, Weesprite

November 15, 2007

I just finished Pillars Of The Earth in September, and I put my name on the list right away for World Without End…but I don’t think I have the mental capacity to jump just right into it this soon after finishing the first one.

November 15, 2007

Those sound like great books! Here’s hoping that the tooth pain was just a fluke!

November 15, 2007

I started Pillars of Earth a few times but never got into it. Not sure why.

November 15, 2007

I got hooked on this Italian mystery movie (that’s supposedly part of a series, based on books) that I saw on PBS one night, and now can’t for the life of me remember what it was, or what the title was, or who was in it, or really what the plot was, but I keep remembering vignettes of the (subtitled) movie so vividly, I’d *love* to find out if it was from a book that’s been translated into english.

Pat
November 15, 2007

Those do sound like great books! I am adding them to books I want to read. You may want to just get some Sensodyne toothpaste for sensitive teeth. My mother had problems with that as she got older. I think the enamel of her teeth just was slightly thinner, causing them to be a tad more sensitive to extreme temperatures. I’m glad it’s feeling better now! (((Hugs)))

I’ve copied down the titles to your books. You make them sound interesting. I think S. Elletra will interest me, also. Good for you on escaping a dental experience.

November 15, 2007

Pillars of the Earth is Rich’s favorite book. And he too is reading the sequel now. 🙂 He loves it. And I’m sure a lot of effort goes into ‘special’ clothing, other than the stuff Wal-Mart sells 🙂

What a relief that must have been, not needing to go to the expensive dentist!! HUgs, M

November 15, 2007

I watched Project Runway last night too — and actually enjoyed it! I agree with you on those two dresses. That one with the tatters — nice idea, but I was so sure that she would have been let go. The other one, well, it would have worked if there had been more finishing on it. I did really like the one that won — that’s going to be someone to watch. And the jacket with the plaid.

November 15, 2007

Glad your tooth is feeling better… (huggles)

I *JUST* finished watching PR on the Tivo. I think the judges HATE bad construction above all things. That always seems to trump the well-made idea that just didn’t work on the model. Also, that nutty yoga lady should never have had her model wear those boots. That was half the problem right there.

November 15, 2007

I am reading my freaken psychology book……*sigh* I cannot wait till this semester is over. *huggs*

November 17, 2007
November 17, 2007

Is Pillars of the Earth set in Afghanistan? I think I tried reading that too. I love Eye of the Needle – book and movie, and remember one about an anarchist in London at the turn of the last century blowing up the clock at Grenwich maybe? What I really remember was him mixing nitroglycerin in the sink in his rented room. I should try him again. I think I like LeCarre better now.

November 17, 2007

Glad the pain went away. I have similar issues with my teeth. Rarely intense pain but strong sensitivity. Sometimes there is reason and other times it just goes away.

November 17, 2007

I read Pillars of the Earth in September…didn’t realize the other one was a sequel. I’ll have to look for it in paperback.

November 18, 2007

RYN: I did think that – the stress of the situation might be exacerbating anything there already – I don’t feel particularly stressed but then you never know what’s going on under the surface until you’re out of it do you?!

November 18, 2007

I’m glad the pain is gone. I hate dentists.