Fred’s Progress: TMI Included!

Be aware that there will definitely be bits of Too Much Information {TMI} in this entry. If you are squeamish when reading about feces and/or urine, move along please! This entry is not for you! LOL

Fred is very VERY much better. He is eating well {and I have insisted he get a little protein down himself daily} and is doing well on small snacks about six times a day. His bowels are more-or-less under his control and there is no diarrhea. {I know this because I am the person who empties the commode and cleans it out.} He is still wearing pull-ups and had a little {but painful} diaper rash which has cleared up beautifully thanks to my insistence on cleanliness and diaper-rash cream!

As an aside to this, I am finding I have no problems with commode and toilet cleaning. I was fairly sure I wouldn’t because, as all mothers –and many fathers–of young babies know, you do what has to be done. The only problem I am having is that so much handwashing is really doing a number on my already dry skin! I have to remember to apply lotion more than once a day {which is what I am used to doing.} One thing that is helping is that I am applying lotion to Fred’s back and feet and legs once a day and that is a big help to MY hands, too. {My masseuse has lovely soft skin on her hands!}

Bladder-wise, he is still incontinent. This, he tells me has nothing to do with the heart attack and everything to do with stress. At least twice before I came to live with him, the plumbing has shut down  and, as a result, he had learned to catheterize himelf. He had not had to do it in the five years I have been here, until now, but knowing that he could do it if necessary has been helpful to his peace of mind. And, of course, since he IS male and 76, he has prostate problems. He requested a Foley catheter {the permanent one with the bag} and he has been wearing it for two or three days. He said he is now feeling sensations that are telling him that the plumbing  may be returning to normal, and so I have every hope that when Nikki {the visiting nurse} comes back on Monday, this may be taken out. Of course, he is perfectly capapble of taking this out himself–{as could I–men’s plumbing is MUCH simpler than women’s! LOL}. I think the Foley is a step backwards and I worry that he may be permanently dependent on it.

In his mind he is so much better. He still cannot concentrate for two long a period on anything but this doesn’t worry me. When I had my left kidney removed six years ago, I was aware of this in myself as I recovered. In fact, as I told him, one of the ways I gauged my improvement was to watch the improvement my ability to pay Solitaire on the computer again! He makes jokes and he laughs. He is much less inclined to cry. He is far less inclined to sit gazing into space.

Physically, his strength is coming back. He sill uses the walker but I have noticed he will stand and move a bit without having to hold onto things the whole time. He is still on a very high doseage of oxygen but he seems to be able to not require it so much. For example, he doesn’t take it into the bathroom with him when he showers because of the heater on the floor, and in the beginning, there was a sort of panic in his voice when he called for me to bring it in after he had turned off the heater. Yesterday he didn’t even ask for it. He put it back on when he got back to where he had left it by his computer, but he didn’t seem to need it after showering.

Small steps, but they will get him there…

Ok, I am off to get clothes from the dryer and other useful stuff…

Until later…

Log in to write a note
December 26, 2004

Oh I am so, so glad that Fred is doing well! Like you, I have no trouble with the perfunctory details of a person recovering from an illness. My years as a CNA stand me in good stead — though when I started that work, it was a great shock to me, the things I had to learn to do. Eventually, they did not bother me one bit! Anna

In the book, “Tuesdays with Morrie”, Morrie expressed the observation that you start as a baby with people changing your diapers and eventually you end up the same way. I’m not sure I could handle that–but as you said, you do what needs to be done. Glad Fred is improving–steps at a time.

December 26, 2004

Oh my goodness, I have not be to your diary in a while and now I see this. I hope Fred improves soon. I am reading back to catch up. I’m so sorry to hear this.

December 26, 2004

Glad that Fred is getting better. He’s lucky to have you .

December 26, 2004

YAYYY!! He’s doing better! GO FRED GO!!!

What great news!

Shi
December 26, 2004

So wonderful that Fred is doing much better.

December 26, 2004

I’m glad he seems to be making improvements. You are right. We do what we have to do.

December 26, 2004

You just made my day! Go FRED!!!!! So glad it’s getting easier. I know how hard it is, even when you love someone enough to do it…. Hugs and Smiles! ~M

December 26, 2004

Many more people would be much better off if the had the same attitude – “Doing what has to be done!” 🙂 – – – –

December 26, 2004

That’s great to hear – he’s lucky to have you there looking after him so well. Just shows as well how important it is for the mind to heal as well as the body & how much they interlink with each other.

December 26, 2004

So glad Fred is doing better. That is the kind of news we need to hear more often. *Hugs*

December 26, 2004

i’m so glad he’s getting better as each day passes. i’m sure he feels less stressed as he gets better. i’m also pretty sure he was afraid when he checked himself out of the hospital on his own. but, he’s male and what can you do with them? but, he’s getting better and that means less stress for both of you. take care,

December 26, 2004

Both of you are sounding much, much better. That’s great news to hear. Oh yes, you have a surprise coming…

December 26, 2004

*huggs* and I am glad things are progressing in the right direction. I hope your Christmas was as special as mine was. And LOL on the packratting!

December 26, 2004

I am so glad Fred is improving. He is very lucky to have you to nurse him.

December 26, 2004
December 26, 2004

Glad to hear the improvement in Fred. Looking back we often wonder where we found the strength to do what we had to do, one day at a time and one step at a time.

December 26, 2004

The news is all positive Patrisha…he is becoming more independent. Hooray!

December 26, 2004

I’m glad Fred’s doing better! I don’t get squeamish about pee and feces either, and could do that stuff for my partner, but it was just something I really didn’t feel comfortable with, with my Brother. I guess it “shouldn’t” have mattered…. but it just did. So, he has to use the catheter because he sometimes can’t urinate? Brother had to wear Depends, but that did not bother him…. Weesprite

December 26, 2004

I am back from Emmy’s house and caught up with Fred’s progress. You are doing splendidly coping with all of this, Patrisha. I thought of you and prayed daily but had no access to a computer. Blessings to you both.

December 26, 2004

Nothing wrong with slow but sure. I hope all went well with your guests. frank

December 27, 2004

So glad Fred is doing better–a good holiday gift for you both!

km
December 27, 2004

This is very good news. And you are right. I think most of us learn to do what needs to be done.

December 28, 2004

*hugs*