Later on Sunday

Right before I left, for my massage, Fred said there looked to be blood in his urine and I immediately thought I had jinxed him because I was writing about how well he was doing! Isn’t it odd how those of us who are female and especially  those of us who are female AND brought up as Catholics immediately accept guilt! Anyway, it looks to be a one-off and he has been taking his temperature every hour and it is absolutely normal. However, I will mention it to the visiting nurse tomorrow.

I got back from the wonderful massage very pleased with myself because this is the first time in the five years I have lived here that I have driven in the snow. {Before he was sick, Fred drove me everywhere I needed to go in bad weather because he knew I was nervous of winter driving–we just don’t get that experience in the Sunny South where I lived for thirty years!} It has snowed all day—light fluffy flakes that dust off the car easily, but the roads were getting icy as the snow was packed down by the traffic. The only time I felt myself slipping was coming out of the parking lot. Coming back from Burlington into the little town where I live, there is a very steep hill down and then a not-quite-as-bad-hill coming back up. There are several traffic lights as one progresses on this route including one about half-way up a hill which slightly scares me {stick shift} even when there is no snow on the road. I was SO lucky today and caught almost all the green lights all the way home. Whew!

When I got in, Bill and Fred were still talking but it was abvious to everyone except Bill that Fred was drooping with fatigue. Finally, I said loudly to Fred, “Did you take a nap yet?” and he said no but he needed to. It still took Bill ten minutes to get out and down the stairs. He will be back next Sunday at the same time so that I can get caught up on the massages.

Now we get through a couple of hours of his daughter and her family and then tomorrow is a peaceful see-no-one-but-the-visiting-nurse day. I look forward to it…

Until later…

Log in to write a note
December 26, 2004
December 26, 2004
December 26, 2004

A massage always sounds soooo good!!

Bill sounds a lot like my brother–kind of thick-headed and oblivious to even the broadest hints. Generous to a fault, but you have to be blunt almost to the point of being rude to get him to leave.

December 26, 2004

It IS a “woman thing” to feel guilty, isn’t it? I hope to cast that aside someday, but it hasn’t happened yet. We get a lot of responsibilities put on us, but we accept them, as you said. I’m so glad you got your massage! And happy for you, for making yourself proud by driving in the snow! It gets easier as you get more practice and gain self-confidence. Hoping you have a good day tomorrow! hugs,

Glad the days are better. Have a bright tomorrow.

December 26, 2004

so glad you got your massage. i’m sure you needed it. i hope fred continues to get better. bill sounds like a nice guy even though he’s hard to send home. sorta sounds like he’s lonely and needs someone to talk to. take care,

Shi
December 26, 2004
December 26, 2004

I’m glad to read that Fred is doing ok!

December 26, 2004

We just got home around 10pm and it has started snowing fine snow and slippery already. They are saying 20-50 cm which is about 8-20 inches. Hope they are wrong. Glad you had a safe trip. I am so happy to be retired and no longer have to go to bed on a stormy night knowing I have to go to work next day. They never cancel hospital like they do school.

December 28, 2004

I am glad that you got out all right. We are so used to the snow and bad weather growing up here, but I am Southern New England and we don’t storm as much as you do up there. Take care. You are doing wonderfully. Blessings.