Getting Ready for Surgery

I got all the paperwork for my "I need to open you up before I can tell you how long you will be in hospital" colorectal surgical procedure on the 20th and I am very impressed because it is VERY detailed. The prep stuff I have to do is very much like that I got for the colonoscopy, but whereas for the colonoscopy I had to make MYSELF a schedule of what I had to do on different days, for this procedure I have one all neatly set out for me with the dates filled in. Of course, these are different doctors, too. Anyway, tomorrow I have to call Beverly at the office of the colorectal surgeon, tell her I have the paperwork and ask her a couple of questions about things I am not sure about. The main one is why do I have an appointment {called a "pre-surgery" appointment} on the 6th? This paperwork is so organized and clear they can’t possibly have anything else to tell me! {Cynically, I tend to think that this is a "making money from Medicare" appointment.}

Some time before he goes back to work next Thursday, Jake is coming over to bring me his coffee table and he will take mine back with him. Mine is a light oak one that Fred and I bought when we moved to the downstairs apartment which had considerably more space than the smaller upstairs apartment where we used to live. His coffee table is black and smaller than mine. He has a house with a big living area. I have a small one-bedroom apartment… He will also, I hope, be bringing my three-bag laundry sorting cart on wheels which he is putting together for me. Right now I am using plastic baskets which are annoyingly difficult to take to the laundry room when one hand is occupied by a cane!

Ok, let’s see if this will save…

If you are distressed by anything external, the pain is not due to the thing itself, but to your estimate of it; and this you have the power to revoke at any moment. — Marcus Aurelius

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
December 29, 2013

(huggles)

May it go well and smoothly and the rehab be as uncomplicated as possible. Thinking of you…

December 29, 2013

Plenty of good luck to you.

December 29, 2013

I hope it’s as easy and comfortable as possible–I’ll certainly be thinking of you.

December 29, 2013

you’re probably right about the reason for the appointment. prayers your surgery goes well and you get out of the hospital quickly. take care,

December 29, 2013

Keeping you in my thoughts.

December 29, 2013

I love how cynical you are. LOL! It’s probably also true. It’s probably a case of “let’s discuss this with the Offically Old Person to make sure that they understand because Officially Old People can be incompetent.” That’s MY cynical take on it. LOL

I notice that medical people are far more careful than they used to be. It’s the law, I was told, so before they do any procedure they make sure and doubly sure that you’re the person they think you are. And that’s probably just the beginning. I’m guessing they made too many mistakes and that’s why.

December 29, 2013
December 29, 2013

It is a good thing to cover everything before the surgery. I’ll never forget the time my mom went for a consultation for a surgery for a carrotted artery. She did not like the Dr at all and was livid in he called her “Honey”. Relating this to her GP he told her he would not have recommended that dr for any procedure. (she never had the surgery)

December 30, 2013

It sounds like they are on the ball! :o) !! hugs, Nicky

December 30, 2013
December 30, 2013

Thank You so much for the information to google and I’m really pleased to learn of your success with the exercises! GOOD LUCK with your surgery! You sound like you have an excellent attitude.

It is my understanding that a pre op is to make sure that all your systems are go for surgery. They even made me go to a dentist and get cleared for surgery. No loose teeth or infection that we didn’t know about.

ryn: i can see your thoughts flying my way and mine flying yours. Where do you suppose they will meet? In the Blue Ridge Mountains perhaps? I think I would like meeting your thoughts in that beautiful place.