Handwriting Analysis Part 1

A friend very kindly did a handwriting analysis for me. Here it is with comments.

The following traits are evident in your handwriting sample.

 

·        Some rigidity and tautness

{Nodding} Definitely

·        Somewhat more conformist and conventional personality than the average

Indeed. I attribute this to a large extent through being brought up in an Irish Catholic family. I have abandoned those religious beliefs but some of the "good Catholic girl" is still left!

·        Leans more to the conventional in dress and behavior

Again, this can be traced to my upbringing and also to the fact that I was a teacher for over 30 years.

·        Prefers to avoid the limelight

Yes

·        Unlikely to seek acclaim and attention

Yes, in fact, YES! I spent most of my childhood as the Invisible Child since that was a safe persona.

·        Somewhat modest

The nuns would be horrified that I am only "somewhat"! 

·        Can accept criticism

Yes, and I have worked hard at learning this.

·        Cheerful, resilient and placid

·<span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'; font-style: normal; font-variant: normal; font-weight: normal; font-size: 7pt; line-height: normal; font-size-adjust: none; font-stretch: normal;”>        Less concerned about the opinions of others

I would add "these days" to this.

·        Self-sufficient, and resourceful

·        Prefers to make own decisions and stick by them

·        Unlikely to be a follower of others

·        Prefers to get out of difficult situations by oneself

·        Prefers to be alone at times of emotional stress

·        Appears to be more dominant and assertive than they really feel they are

Oh, MY! Yes, indeed. I think of the times when I am dominant and assertive as my "teacher persona."

·        More likely to speak out forthrightly to defend themselves if under attack

{Nodding}

·        Is able to talk about personal matters without feeling too self-conscious

True. I think this is actually a female characteristic, myself. And I am a big believer in getting professional psychological help when I have needed it. And, of course, if I am not willing to talk about what is bothering me, I do not get help.

·        In a quarrel, very likely to defend their rights

{Nod,nod,nod}

·        </span>Good at resisting sales talk

Yes, I am. Sales talk actually amuses me because I can see quite clearly what is going on and unless I have decided beforehand that what they are selling is what I want to buy, they are wasting their time with me.

·        Less likely to hesitate over complaining about shoddy goods/poor service

This is something I have been working at doing. It used to be that I would let it go by…

·        Some leadership qualities, but in a position of power may not tolerate opinions which clash with their own

Hmmm…

·        If prevented from expressing views, or if not being taken seriously enough, may become irritated

Oh, yes! Just ask Fred!

·        Independent and assertive

Independent, yes. I have worked at being assertive for a long time.

·        Respectful of authority, as well as respect for other people’s boundaries

·        Stresses over routine chores

{Laughing} Indeed, this is me.

·        Comfortable in social situations

More comfortable that I used to be but I still tend to avoid them.

·        Looks to the future most of the time

Yes. I work at living in the moment. It doesn’t come easily.

·<span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'; font-style: normal; font-variant: normal; font-weight: normal; font-size: 7pt; line-height:normal; font-size-adjust: none; font-stretch: normal;”>        A balanced speaker/listener, who doesn’t lean more in one direction over the other

·        Spontaneity present

Hmmm. Sponaneity is a little less difficult than it used to be because I am aware I tend to be somewhat rigid…

·        Passion for life is evident but it is expressed conservatively

·        Conceals some personally held attitudes

·        Thinks before acting, being sure to ponder decisions first before committing to them

{nod, nod, nod}I cannot remember any big decision I have made in the last 10 years that I haven’t made a list of pros and cons and pondered over them for a while.

·        You keep your own counsel

·        Attention is more often focused on daily life than on philosophy or beliefs

True. This is where Fred and I differ.

·        Conservative, you stay away from huge crowds

Yes. One thing I really like about being retired is the ability to do things during the week when most people are at work so I can avoid crowds.

·        You keep some information hidden but this is not a dominant trait

·        Analytical, love to find answers and analyze them

Yep.

·        <span lang="EN-US" styl

Log in to write a note

I like avoiding crowds also and it’s always a shock for me to have to see what life is really like for the others on weekends. The older I get the more daily life is focus, and the less I worry about more abstract things.

Very interesting!

June 17, 2007

Interesting.