Hi, Ho, Hi, Ho!

… it’s off to school I go!

I just went out and cleaned the snow off both cars. I t wasn’t difficult because it is the light, fluffy stuff.

In about ten minutes, I am heading out to Italian. It is weird going in the afternoon! I have my notebook organized and in my backpack. Last night I ordered the text book and the work book she wants us to get at http://www.alibris.com. The textbook alone, new costs 125 dollars. I got both of them for 40 dollars. And, that includes expedited shipping! They are both second hand, obviously, and the sellers say there are a few marks on them but they are classified as "good." So, we shall see. I have had good luck with buying from alibris sellers before…

I still have to find some studio time to get four beakers/cups done. What is messing me up for tomorrow is physical therapy at 12:30. Next week, I am having morning physical therapy, EARLY morning!

QUOTATIONS:

"Step by step. I can’t think of any other way of accomplishing anything."

Michael Jordan

None will improve your lot If you yourself do not.

Bertolt Brecht, 1933

Log in to write a note
January 24, 2008

I rely so heavily on used textbooks to stay within my education budget that I am actually quite disappointed when instructors change to the latest edition of their texts (so that I have no choice but to buy new.) Enjoy your class.

Ohh wow. I’ve never cleaned the light, fluffy snow off of my car!! Here in Bama, if the snow sticks it’s because there’s a layer of ICE underneath it!! *sigh* 🙂 Aren’t textbook prices just absolutely ridiculous!? Especially if it’s for something you WON’T use again. I get so angry buying math books!!

January 24, 2008

alibris has been a major contributor to my standard of living as well … enjoy the class!

January 24, 2008

Wow, I am astounded by how much textbooks cost nowadays. When I was in college (and granted, that WAS ages ago, wasn’t it?!), I spent about two hundred dollars per semester on books….ALL the books I needed….!! I am glad you can get the books second-hand online, and have them be in good quality! hugs, Weesprite

January 24, 2008

i hope you enjoy your class. my daughter gets used books when she can. but, it’s kinda hard to get used nursing books. most nurses want to keep their books for reference. take care,

That is an outrageous price for a text book. Glad you can get one second hand. Sounds exciting what you are doing. 🙂 will you post pics of your beakers when you have done them?

Shi
January 24, 2008

Text books, but the demand is small are outrageously expensive. Not sure why it’s not done, downloaded online these days.

Thanks for sharing the textbook tip. It’s a great idea. Mark so far has waited to the last minute to sign up for classes so buying online has been difficult. I’ve just now told him about this site. Maybe next semester he will sign up earlier.

Pat
January 24, 2008

Unless the front or back of the textbook is falling off or it’s missing pages, being worn or marked a little doesn’t bother me at all. You are making miss having classes. I always have enjoyed school. (((Hugs)))

January 24, 2008

abebooks.com is also another good place to find textbooks.

January 24, 2008

Sometimes with the light fluffy snow and my long, quarter mile driveway I just get a peekhole and go like the devil and try to blow the snow off with the wind. If not all off by the end of the drive I will brush it off at the road but I can get up to 30 mph on the driveway easy. Can’t see much but no traffic on the drive but me!hahaha darn books are expensive now! have fun…dan

January 24, 2008

I would LOVE to take Italian…. all I can remember from childhood is the swear words! *g*

January 24, 2008

I hope that you will be posting photos of your beakers when you have them finished. I suspect that you will be just as adept at pottery as you are with art.

January 25, 2008

Hope you enjoyed the class!

textoks have gotten ridiculously high. You would think they were made of gold or something! Hugs, M