I Am Home

I had physical therapy yesterday and after that was over, I came home. I called the office here at the apartment complex and two men came over with my furniture from where they had stored it. I had to tell them where everything should go and, with only one exception, I got it right! This was surprising because I was tired and hot and fuzzy-brained because I was exhausted.

You remember all that "stuff" in the millions of boxes? Well, most of it came back to me in a few boxes and a huge cooler without a lid and it all has to be put away all over again! I have done a bit of it — mainly books– but I am in no hurry. I really DO have to find my land line phone, though since none of the cordless extensions work until the main one is hooked up. And although the carpet was vacuumed before I came home, everything else is covered with a slightly gritty layer of dust which, when cleaned up some time in the next day or two, will all go into the carpet which will then have to be vacuumed again!

I was too tired last night to take a shower and this morning I discovered I had no hot water, and the drier and oven were also not working. I realized that it had to be flipped breakers but had no idea where the breaker box was! I was desperate for a shower and called the office as soon as it opened to tell them the problem. Now, these people are usually very quick in fixing problems so I was quite surprised when I found two hours had passed. I called the office again and while I was waiting for a knock on the door, I went into the utility room and picked up a basket of clothes to carry them out to the living room so I could fold clothes and watch a John Wayne movie at the same time. And, as I turned around to drag the basket out, I saw the breaker box! Everything was carefully marked so it was easy to see what had to be flipped. Just as I had finished, there came a knock at the door and it was the guy come to fix the problem!

When I knew what day I was coming home, I went to Amazon and ordered a Roku box. Jake had one and I was very impressed! The box came this morning and Jake came over this afternoon and set it up for me. I have Amazon Prime so I am going to go with their free movies first. I am also pretty sure I will also subscribe to Netflix after a while. I was going to pay for a meal this evening at the restaurant of Jake’s choice but what with the physical therapy and the coming home and seeing all the "stuff" to be put back again, my stomach and digestive system were not feeling too happy so I asked Jake to postpone the meal. I do not want to put an expensive meal into a stomach which feels a bit insecure! We are not going tomorrow because I want to be absolutely sure my digestive system can cope! And I don’t want to go on Thursday because there is another session of PT that day, so any day other than those two will be fine.

And, talking about PT, this morning when I stepped out of the shower, I put my left leg — the weak one–out first and noticed I didn’t need to glom onto the grab bar the way I usually do when I put my full weight on that leg. So, the PT is working. I said to Jake it was possibly the placebo effect too –I know I am susceptible but hey, whatever works! It gives me motivation to do this stuff at home.

Off to play with Roku now!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
May 24, 2013

I’m glad you got to move back! I am going to look up Roku boxes now.

May 24, 2013

I am also going to look up Roku boxes because I’ve never heard of them! Glad you’re back in your own place again but oh – more boxes to unpack – you can do without that I’m sure! At least you can take your time and do it at your leisure though.

May 24, 2013

Woo-hoo! It’s good to be home, I’ll bet, but having to face unpacking AGAIN must be a real pain!

So glad you are now back home. We are too!!!!!! I am also going to look up Roku boxes as I have never heard of them. You have me very curious. Hugs,M

May 24, 2013

Oh my dear lady do take care! What an ordeal you have gone through! Now, I’m going to look up Roku, too.

May 24, 2013

Bet it feels good to be in your own apartment again, even if you DO have to unpack all over again. You’ll love your roku… and congrats on your strengthening leg! PT can be very helpful if you put the hard work in… (huggles)

What an exhausting experience — I’m glad you’re back home and you will sleep in your own bed tonight.

May 24, 2013

I bet that it feels lovely to be back home, despite all of the unpacking to do! Echoing others, I now need to find out what a Roku box is.

I love my roku box. 🙂 I have netflix and used to have amazon prime, they (amazon) has a pretty good selection of free movies and tv shows.

May 24, 2013

Delighted you are home. ryn: I didn’t care for Tom Cruise in the movie, but then I don’t much care for Cruise at all. In the books, Reacher is described around six feet tall…Cruise is not, in fact, I think he is rather short for a man.

May 25, 2013

ohmygosh! no hot water, and right when you reaaaaaly wanted a shower, too!! Those are fightin’ conditions!! I am glad you now know where the breaker box is, anyhow! one thing is for sure….there haven’t been many dull moments since you moved, have there? ;o) !! Right about now, I’m sure you would not mind having a few! I’m so glad the PT is working!! hugs, Nicky

May 25, 2013

will have to look up roku boxes. no idea what it is. okay, just looked it up and i’m happy with my hd dvr and the starz movie package. glad you are home. don’t stress over the putting away of things for a second time. it will get done. take it easy. be good to yourself. glad to hear the p/t is working. take care,

May 25, 2013

I’m sure it is wonderful to be back home. As far as the repeated unpacking, no hurry.