Listing Thoughts

Some things I am thinking about:

  • It is a good job I love bread and cheese because I eat a cheese-and-Marmite sandwich almost every day. {When I was younger and my digestion was younger too, I used to add raw onion to this sandwich!}
  • I was surprised that so many people commented on me putting Milk Duds in the freezer. I do the same with those tiny candy bars, pre-broken chocolate {because it is hard to break when it is frozen} and grapes. Frozen grapes are like candy that is good for you! The best ones to freeze are the red ones which are sweeter…
  • We are supposed to have frost tonight. This means that Fredrika, the HUGE Christmas rose — the plant that Fred has had longer than he has had me –will come inside. I will also bring in the kalanchoe which somehow doesn’t seem to have a name.
  • The temperature right now is 59 degrees and is sunny. I went for a 20 minute walk this morning.
  • Yesterday the "Torchwood" {season 2} DVDs arrived. I had forgotten that I had pre-ordered them and it was a lovely surprise to get email from Amazon telling me when they were coming.
  • Yesterday I also ordered two more DVDs — one  of "Cranford" and one from my wish list which I can’t remember the name of at this moment… Oh, yes, "2001, a Space Odyssey."
  • Which reminds me that the next book club reading is The Odessey by Homer.
  • Next month I will pre-order the next season of Doctor Who which will be out in November. Amazon does quite well from me!
  • Next Tuesday at 7:15 in the morning, I have to go to the cardiologists to take a stress test. A day or two before then, Fred is very kindly going to drive me over there so I will know where to go at that early hour. I actually don’t mind it being so early since I am a morning person anyway.

Now, I am off the frivol away the afternoon watching John Barrowman save the world–well, Cardiff anyway–in "Torchwood."

QUOTATIONS:

"There is only one success – to be able to spend your life in your own way."

Christopher Darlington Morley (1890-1957)

 

Log in to write a note
Pat
September 18, 2008

I have very bad memories of The Odyssey. LOL I took 3 years of high school Latin and we had to translate it from Latin to English. *shiver* It is quite a good story though, if you haven’t read it before.

I LOVE frozen grapes!!!! NOt sure that I could get through The Odyssey! Hugs, M

September 18, 2008

I wish I had a product to sell that people loved as much as you love Amazon!

Ummm – I think you mean John Barrowman? 😉 Hmmm, I’m going through a bit of a Marmite phase myself at the moment. 🙂

September 18, 2008

I’ve never heard of frozen grapes before, I’ll have to try that for sure! 😉

I, too, translated The Odyssey in high school – except that I loved it. Homer is much better in Latin. The rhythm is wonderful. (It certainly beat translating miles of inventory records from the sixth legion) – which brings me to what I meant to say, which is, what translator? A good one is a must.

I’m sorry, I totally lost the thread after you wrote TORCHWOOD. *ahem* Better now.

September 18, 2008

I used to name my plants, but then I stopped doing so. I bet they are sad, to have no names. I must start naming them again! :o) !! hugs, Weesprite

September 18, 2008

The best translation that I’ve found of Homer is the Fagles that came out about a decade ago. Very readable and enjoyable with enough notes to get the odder ideas across. Looking forward to seeing what you have to say about Cranford.

September 18, 2008
September 18, 2008

I wish I was a morning person.

September 19, 2008

I love Amazon, and I love Doctor Who 🙂

random noter! 🙂 Your milk duds in the freezer made me think of a friend who puts thin mints in the freezer… they each sound as though they are a good alternative 🙂