Unfaithful to my Kindle!

Yesterday I went to the car dealer’s service department to find out why my "check engine " light was on. I had checked that the gas cap was tight but, apparently I didn’t do it correctly. Instead of just tightening it, I should have taken it off and put it back again because that is what the problem was. Anyway, I spent 30 minutes in their waiting room {with the TV off since I was the only one there} reading from the Kindle. AND, I wasn’t charged a penny which I very much appreciated! When I went out to find my car I followed their instructions which were "Turn right and look for space 15." This turned out to be shorthand for "Turn left, look to your right and find space 15!" Eventually, my car and I were reunited and I went to the big box stores since I was in that area. I came out with two Vermont sweat shirts because this is the weather for it, and a bunch of bits and pieces including Milk Duds! {I find if I put them into the freezer, I can have two and they last a long time.} I had also put a pair of dark purple velvety pants in the cart but changed my mind. Of course, I am now thinking I should have got them!

In the evening, I went to the book club meeting and as usual, had a really good time. After I am through writing, I am going to go to the PBS site and see if there is a DVD of the Masterpiece version of the book, Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell. I caught a couple of episodes on TV and I would like to see the whole thing through from beginning to end. It apparently includes not only the eponymous book but incidents from several other books that Elizabeth Gaskell wrote. The book was Martha’s choice so she told us quite a lot about Gaskell who wrote books that were way ahead of her time. One of her books was about a girl who had a baby out of wedlock which was a very daring thing to write about at that time.

While I was at the library, I checked out a dead-tree book. I am reading my way through Ruth Rendell’s Inspector Wexford books and downloaded the first couple of chapters of her latest one free onto my Kindle. After reading and enjoying them, I then went to buy the book only to discover it was around $15! Most of the books that have been "kindle-ized" are below $10 so I was surprised. What usually happens is that the price drops when the book goes into paperback so I decided to wait. But then, since I was at the library anyway, I looked, and there it was! I have to say that it a lot easier reading in bed at night from my Kindle.   And my Kindle will just have to learn to deal with the fact that there are some books that I enjoy reading but don’t want to own!

Until later…

QUOTATIONS:

"There is only one success – to be able to spend your life in your own way."

Christopher Darlington Morley (1890-1957)

 

Log in to write a note
September 17, 2008

Poor, neglected Kindle…. 😀

I would Kindle every Dean Koontz book I’ve yet to read. Like you…I just wanna read it….not own it.

September 17, 2008

If the Kindle seems too sad, you can offer it a milk dud! :o) !! hugs, Weesprite

Serena rapidly writes down Milk Duds hint. thanks

September 17, 2008

A dead tree book. Hehe. 🙂

The gas cap thing happened to us a few years ago. We were glad that’s all it was but a little embarrassed at the same time! LOL Hmmm, freezing milk duds, what a good idea! Hugs, M

The latest Inspector Wexford book is worth being unfaithful to Kindle. I read “Not in the Flesh” recently.

September 17, 2008
September 17, 2008

There is nothing like reading in bed, before lights out. So far I have read 51 books this year.

Pat
September 17, 2008

Reading right before sleep is my most favorite, peaceful time! I’m sure your Kindle will get over it. 🙂 (((Hugs)))

Shi
September 17, 2008

Ah, I’ll bet that dead tree books are probably on the way out. May take awhile, but I suspect the writing is on the wall.

September 17, 2008

How many books do you keep on your KIndle? Do you delete them? Do you put them on your computer after you read them? I am still thinking of getting one but not ready to spend the money.

September 18, 2008

LOVE dark purple velvety pants – I have a pair. I am almost looking forward to the cooler weather – I’d bought velour pants in half a dozen colors last year – they’re warm, comfortable and attractive.

lmao @ dead tree book! Yeah, bound books are SO expensive. I rarely buy them; more incentive to get a kindle! I’m not sure if I can stare at a screen for that long though…

September 18, 2008

I hope you haven’t hurt its feelings!

RYN, I’m going to try curling up in bed with the laptop this weekend!