Looking Back

I think I have mentioned that as a child I was extremely shy? This was in part due to the facts that I was considerably taller than most girls of my age and painfully thin. {Both of these characteristics have changed! }So, as a result of these, and other, things, I was not able to say anything when I felt there was something wrong. A childhood serious result of this was when I was eleven and I was picked up in the street by a neighbor who found me in the throes of peritonitis when my infected appendix busrt after four weeks of acute pain I had said nothing about. One of the smaller results of this shyness was that I felt unable to say anything when, for example, people pushed in front of me in line.

So, a day or so ago, I went to the bank. Three tellers were working. Sometimes the lines form in front of each teller and sometimes there is one line where the person waiting moves forward to whichever teller is free. It is easy to tell which is happeneing. So, I got behind the two people who were waiting in one line to wait my turn. After a few minutes, an older woman comes up and gets behind  the person being helped by one of the three tellers. Now, in the past, I would have fumed but said nothing. On that day however, I said smilingly, "Ma’am?  {This comes from my thirty years Down South!} This is the line over here," She immediately apologized and came to stand behind me. Now why I need to write about what seems to be a very simple transaction is because I did this with NO thinking about it and NO selfconsciousness about it at all.

I am having a massage today.

QUOTATIONS:

"Step by step. I can’t think of any other way of accomplishing anything."

Michael Jordan

"Fear not for the future, weep not for the past."

Percy Bysshe Shelley (1792-1822) English poet

 

Log in to write a note

I would have stood silent and fumed as well most of the time. I am glad we have both become more “brave.” I know with my height that I had to put up with a lot of “act your age” comments because of people assuming that I was much older than I was. Did you have to go through anything similar?

July 13, 2008

Growth happens all the time. I am glad it was a natural expression.

Pat
July 13, 2008

I think that’s wonderful! I’m glad that you have the confidence to speak up now. I was very much like you growing up and in my early married years. I am not like that now (as my hubby will attest!) 😉

AWESOME! I know how you feel about the painfully shy thing — I’m still struggling with it. (Surprising, I know.) LOL. It all depends on the day as to how shy I am, and some days I just feel like being at home because I don’t even want to open my mouth to speak to anyone. Other days, bring it on. *sigh* It’s all a process.

July 13, 2008

Cool.

July 13, 2008

*applauds!* I was also painfully shy as a child and teen, and never spoke up for myself in any way. Moments like the one you describe here sometimes really stand out in my mind too…. and I marvel at how much I’ve changed, and wish that young girl had had half the nerve this grown woman has. Oh, but it’s good to have what we have NOW! hugs, Weesprite

**raises hand*** 🙂

🙂 Wonderful.

July 13, 2008

Oh, Good for YOU – that Is a huge step, and I’m glad you could…CAN…do it! 😉 }{{{HUGS}}},

July 13, 2008

Confidence comes with age! I was also too tall and thin as a child and very shy, but I feel that I can tackle most things now.

July 13, 2008

good for you!!! i don’t know if i’d have been able to do that. i still don’t talk to strangers. take care,

July 13, 2008

Good for you. I, too, spent a lot of time in my youth letting things slide, but I don’t do that any more, and I’m sure she appreciated it. It’s like that scene in “A Christmas Story” where they were in line to see Santa. They just didn’t know where the line actually was.

I doubt that I’d have said anything. 🙂

🙂 Good for you!!! I guess we never stop growing and changing. That’s great.

July 13, 2008