More Snow!

More snow this morning. I am tired of this…

Yesterday I got a card from my dentist reminding me about my yearly cleaning appointment. This morning at about 8 am, I called to remind them I needed a prescription for antibiotics. I got their machine. So, I called later and got their machine again. When I called for the third time, I realized what the problem was. It is Saturday and no one is there! In case you are wondering why I need a prescription, it is because of the hip replacement. Even when I am just having a cleaning, I have to take this stuff four hours before my appointment. And I think this is for three years after the surgery.

Last night the batteries in Fred’s TV changer died and although I thought that we have every size in batteries known to man, we didn’t have AAAs.  So, this morning, I walked to the local gas station and mini mart and I took my back pack. And it was as I had planned. I was able to get some milk, some margarine, some peppermints {for me} and the batteries into the backpack and I was able to walk home with a straight back and NO pain! It also helped that I stayed on the road and walked facing the oncoming traffic. If I have to do this again, I will dig out my bright orange I-am-a-pedestrian-walking-on-the-road vest. The roads are, on the whole, clear of ice and slush. The sidewalks are not!

One thing I have learned through all the difficulties I have had with coping with a stick is that people here in Vermont are VERY helpful. I have gotten myself to the point where I can ask for help {not an easy thing for me} and today when  I was struggling to put on the backpack with stuff in it on my back, just as I turned round to ask him, a young man behind me said, "Here, let me give you a hand with that,’ and hoisted it up on my shoulder before I could even say a word.

I have lots of lovely Star Trek DVDs to watch and peppermints to eat so I am off to get comfortable and indulge.

QUOTATIONS:

"Step by step. I can’t think of any other way of accomplishing anything."

Michael Jordan

None will improve your lot If you yourself do not.

Bertolt Brecht, 1933

Log in to write a note
March 1, 2008

Star Trek and Peppermints. Could be a song title in there. Maybe a late 60’s or 70’s pop song. have fun…dan

a good day is a good day in deed!

YAY for being able to walk it with no pain. Ugh for more snow. I’m not bragging but it is sunny and 60s here today. Ok, maybe that is bragging.

March 1, 2008

I love helpful people! Thanks for telling about the young man at the store. :o) !! I don’t blame you for being tired of snow…. I love it, but it’s March now, so how ’bout bringin’ on some SPRINGTIME? :o) !! hugs, Weesprite

March 1, 2008

What kind of peppermints are they? I have a personal love of those soft peppermints that just kind of melt in your mouth.

March 1, 2008

At least the sun is shining today and it will be in the 30s. Some of the new stuff, maybe all of it, will melt away. I’m tired of trying to keep the car clean!

March 1, 2008

I know you understand the reasons why you have to take the anti-biotic before dental treatment. It’s so important though that I can’t understand why so many people fight it!

March 1, 2008

I love how, when you are faced with a problem (pain walking and carrying something), you always come up with a creative solution (backpack), rather than just sit around the house and moan about it. You are an inspiration.

I am sure you must be getting so sick of SNOW!! We’re supposed to have temps in the 70s tomorrow. I’ll try to get out for a little bit and enjoy some of it for you. You know what kind of candy we used to get- the pink wintergreen ones. Can’t find them down here. One time when I went home for a visit I made myself sick on them as I hadn’t had them in so long and didn’t know when to stop. L Hugs,

That young mans Mother should be very proud of him 😉

March 1, 2008

Good for you! Yes, definitely pick up one of those bright orange vests. We got smacked hard by the snow demons too last night, but now the sun is out, and it almost looks — pretty.

Shi
March 1, 2008

Have fun with Star Trek and maybe soon, no more snow.

March 1, 2008

Doesn’t the weather in VT know that it’s March and that Spring is just around the corner? My mom is getting snow too… I’m sending you each a dose of sun and warm from here! Love to you! ~M

Yea for the walk to the mini-mart! So glad asking for help is getting easier. It feels good to help people. =)

March 1, 2008

Everybody in Canada and U.S.A. has written about the snow today. I’m glad we haven’t got any! I bought a pill cutter yesterday so thanks for telling me that they existed!

March 1, 2008

I wish people were as helpful here in Colorado. I find them to be rude actually. It’s a horrible thing. I’m glad you had no pain. That’s a good thing. 🙂

March 2, 2008

star trek… i watch reruns every chance i get. i love all the spinoffs too. how nice that young man offered to help you. i’m glad to hear that you did that walk with no pain. you’re getting there. i don’t think maynard and i can walk in the street just yet. still too snow covered. i’ll be glad when some of that snow melts and we can walk again. take care,

March 2, 2008

Sometimes it’s just nice to have a day where there is nothing to do but relax. WE don’t get them very often around here. I would like more, but then on the days you get to relax or are stuck in, you always seem to find something crazy to go out for.

March 2, 2008

I noticed too that many people respond kindly when you have an assisting device like a cane. The young crowd doesn’t though… And dentist cleaning… yuck! And congrats on making a walk that was pain free

March 2, 2008

That sounds like a really nice way to spend Sunday. I watch what they watch on TV. too, or Jim does. We have the computer and TV in the same room and no one has a tv. in their room. We watch as a family. We do have a portable DVD player so that if Cedric wants to watch his Poke’mon DVD’s he can, and Jewel likes to watch some things over and over. These are all DVD’s that we have watched toget

March 2, 2008

together any way. Jim will take the portable DVD. player and watch his old Star Treck’s that he has. He says he doesn’t like the new ones too well. He has all the old ones and he will sometimes take them and watch them in our room. I watch Medium the TV. show. The kids don’t like that they think it’s scary. We usually keep the tv. off during the week. I think they do better in school.

RYN: That is a chimney of an old house and the next building picture was of it’s garage all surrounded by brambles and bamboo and between the two were just hundreds of daffodils. There are volunteer daffodils all over in the woods here. I love them. With these ones I worry that when they develop back there they will just run them all down. I need to see if I can find a developer who will letme dig them up and transplant them.

March 3, 2008

RYN: Are the Dexter books good? I just discovered that the series is based on a book!