Thoughts

This morning one of my favorites wrote, "I don’t know how to live on my own, I’m just making up my own rules as I go along."

And this got me thinking of my rules for life that I, too, have just made up as I have gone along through my life. So, here they are — not in order of importance but just as I thought about them.

  • Be kind.
  • Know what your priorities are and allot your time and money accordingly.
  • People are more important than television. If someone is talking to you, mute the sound or, better still,  turn off the television and listen.
  • Let it go. Stressing oneself over something one has no control over is a waste of time.
  • Read. "I don’t care what she reads, Babs, as long as she reads."  When I was 13, this was a comment made by my father to my aunt who was objecting to some of the books I read.
  • Always have something planned to look forward to.
  • Take care of your health.
  • Actively search for something new to learn to stretch the mind.
  • Walking is excellent exercise and is free.
  • As much as possible, live in the moment.
  • Everything is possible. If it has to be done, one can eat an elephant one small bite at a time.
  • Mistakes are steps on the path to learning.
  • Learning never ends. The more one learns, the more there is to learn.

QUOTATIONS:

"Step by step. I can’t think of any other way of accomplishing anything."

Michael Jordan

None will improve your lot If you yourself do not.

Bertolt Brecht, 1933

Log in to write a note
March 2, 2008

Great rules to abide by. Thanks for sharing.

March 2, 2008

It does smell wonderful… I hope it does wonderful things to my hair! I really enjoy your list, especially the one about reading. I can remember friends when I was in 9th grade or so and they had to sneak around to read things (romance novels for one). All I ever had to do was ask my Mom and she would hand me the book. Assuming it was nothing too raunchy of course!

Wonderful rules to live by.

March 2, 2008

very good rules to live by. but, how is one supposed to find a rule to live by with all the snow we’ve had this winter? i’m having a difficult time adjusting to that!!! there’s no place to put any more snow!!!! i want spring… i saw a flock of robins out back wandering around on the 3 feet of snow in the back yard today! what on earth are they gonna eat? take care,

Shi
March 2, 2008

I fear I know about making up the rules as you go along.

March 2, 2008

I should print these out and hang them on my bathroom mirror.

March 2, 2008

I like all the rules to live by! I especially like “always have something planned to look forward to”….I know I’m lots more upbeat when I’m looking forward to something! :o) !! hugs, Weesprite

March 2, 2008

I like your rules for living especially THE ONE THAT SAYS PLAN SO YOU HAVE SOMETHING TO LOOK FORWARD TO. So many people don’t like to plan in case they won’t be able to do whatever. I tell them to plan and if they can’t do it so what.

I love the rules! Thanks for sharing!

March 2, 2008

I like those!

March 2, 2008

A well-thought-out list, to be sure.

These are fabulous!!!

March 2, 2008

These are wonderful! I still have one of them hanging on my wall to inspire me. Okay, two.

I’ve never thought about my rules. I know that I have them though. I like yours.

March 2, 2008

Yes. Exactly so – my mother, in one of the few decent things that she did do for me, never denied me in books. I have remained a voracious reader all of my life, and don’t regret it for a second.

March 2, 2008

Good rules! The older I get, the more I want to learn!

March 3, 2008

I also find walking gives you alot of time to think. I let my mind wonder or sometimes I think about what what needs to be done when I finish walking.