Second Week of School

School is in the second week and we are now given all instructions in Italian and cannot speak English {or any other language except Italian}. We have a new teacher since Lorenza, the one we had in the first week, went off on vacation. The new teacher is Daniela. She gave us a list of important phrases and “Come si dice {English word} in italiano?” {How do you say …in Italian?} and “Che significa {Italian word}”{What is the meaning of …} are getting good workouts!

Yesterday I got a bit intimidated by the person I was working with because she has a much better vocabulary than me but today was much better. I decided to have an attitude change. I used to tell my students they were EXPECTED to make mistakes because they were beginners and by acknowledging their mistakes and correcting them, they would learn. So, I jumped in with an attitude change and did much better.

One thing that was fun to do today was that in groups we got seven pictures of men, women and children. We had to use our imaginations to make a family tree and about each character we had to say the name, the city they live in, their age, what they worked at and their position in the family. When the time was up, each of us in our groups had to present two or three of the characters and tell all about them.

I will give you an example:  Quella Anna e abito in Lucca. {This is Anna. and she lives in Lucca.} Anna ha sessantadue anni e e {with an accent} una pensionata ma lavoro dell’ insegnante..{Anna is seventy two–literally she has 72 years–and she is retired but works as a teacher. } E la moglie di Giacomo, la madre di Piero e la nonna di Annabella. {She is the wife of Giocamo, the mother of Piero and the grandmother of Annabella.} We could look at our notes but not read them. The other group had to listen and ask questions if we were not clear. I worked with two of the three German girls –Barbara and Janna. I am wondering what will happen next week, Nels, the Norwegian man, will be gone and I think all the three German girls but I may be wrong about that.  Since we have already lost the Australian Robbie, that will leave me and Clare, the Irishwoman who has three children and lives in Lucca! Each unit of learning is four weeks and so I will do a unit and a half before I leave.

I am concentrating on enjoying Lucca and on being able to find my way around the town. I did one walking tour of the town in the first week and it distressed me a lot because I found it difficult to keep up with the guide and he spoke very fast. Luckily a nice American man translated a lot for me. {He was obviously in a different classroom group from me!}

 I am not totally putting the kibosh on side trips, and they are offered, but I am really enjoying walking slowly around the town by myself and getting to know it. One reason I am having difficulty walking is that even though they have no potholes, the roads are uneven. I noticed today that many of the streets are higher at the sides and dipped in the middle and that is where the water drains are, right in the middle of the roads! In addition, I have to climb 52 steps to get to the place I am staying and 47 steps to get up to the school! The steps are wide and well lighted but they are difficult at the end of a day.

Still, it is, as Fred and I say often to each other, all exercise. And I am still doing the exercises to strengthen the muscles in my butt and the side of my left leg. I can see little improvement but Milena, who owns the apartment where I am living, says she can see that I walk a little better than I did when I arrived.

Daniela the instructor told us that we were having unusually good weather this September. The days are cool and sunny and the nights are a bit chilly. Next month, it will rain. Well, I don’t mind because I brought three sweaters and an umbrella I haven’t used yet.

More later…

QUOTATIONS:

"Step by step. I can’t think of any other way of accomplishing anything."

Michael Jordan

If you have the courage to begin, you have the courage to succeed.

— David Viscott

Log in to write a note
September 25, 2007

When you get back to America you’ll find that you’ll keep speaking in Italian instead of English! (Or should I say American?!)

September 26, 2007

I’ve always heard that unless you play against more skillful players, you can never improve your game! So I guess that applies to speaking a language with people who have bigger vocabularies than you, too. :o) !! If I were you, I’d rather explore the town slowly on my own also. I bet it’s just wonderful! hugs, Weesprite

September 26, 2007

RYN. I was aware that you were English, but I didn’t know how long you’d been living in America. I think that if you move to a different country or area when you are young you often pick up the new accent, but rarely once you’re over the age of about ten! I’ve lived in Scotland for 30 years now, but I’m still completely English!

September 26, 2007

sounds like your classes are total immersion of italian. since that is where you are… sounds like a good way to learn the language quickly. i’m sure you enjoy the slow walks around town instead of the guided tours. they cram so much into those tours. you can see so much more going slowly. take care,

September 26, 2007

Your descriptions make me happy!Ilove to travel in the way you’re doing it,including just wandering.~but for me it’s France & studying French. Being in another place does make one walk a lot~ It’s all exercise! Thanks for sharing this marvelous journey!(studying a foreign language in adulthood can be intimidating~our struggles are so out there!) I agree, it’s all in the attitude! Bravo for you!!

My life has been so crazy busy, I missed that you left. I will come back and read all what I’ve missed. You sound like you are doing awesome. Making mistakes are hard when you put pressure on yourself. Being the student instead of the teacher would be a role adjustment.

Pat
September 26, 2007

It sounds like you have a wonderful attitude about everything. I’m sure the streets and steps back at your town will feel like a piece of cake after walking the streets of Lucca! I hope you are taking lots of photos!

September 26, 2007

Sounds like you are having a great experience. I think sticking to Lucca and relaxing in the city is a great idea. Maybe you want to take one side trip?

I look forward to your updates from Lucca…they are so exciting for me 🙂 My sons Spanish class is doing the exact same lesson…family trees but all in Spanish. It wasn’t that easy. LOL!

September 26, 2007

I can just imagine that all that stair-walking is really getting those butt muscles in shape. While you are out wandering around Lucca, do you talk to the locals and practice your language skills, like in the shops and such?

I had to chuckle at Orange sorbets comment about the accent thing. I didn’t move to Alabama until I was in my 20s and I picked up the southern drawl so fast it was pathetic!! LOL Of course, I had noone from my family with me so I didn’t hear the upstate NY accent anymore. You seem to be having a great time!! What a nice experience for you! Hugs, M

September 26, 2007

Wow, I love hearing about your trip. It sounds so exciting, so interesting, just wonderful. It looks like with your trip you got a lot more then just learning, but as you mentioned, the exercising.

September 26, 2007
September 26, 2007

That’s a great attitude to have. You aren’t expected to be perfect, that’s why you’re there learning! I love rain in Italy. My favourite thing was the umbrella stands in each shop, to plop your wet umbrella in while you browse around. I love reading what you’re learning in Italian (with the translations, that’s helpful!)

September 26, 2007

This is really interesting, and I’m glad that you are able to keep pace with your schedule. You’re still one of my heroes.

September 26, 2007

🙂 *huggs*

I’m in awe of your courage and dedication to this goal.

Shi
September 26, 2007

Wow, that’s some physical therapy those steps.

Learning is so exciting. Blessings!

September 29, 2007

This sounds great – I’m so glad you’re finally doing it but these are a LOT of steps! What happened to the folk who’ve already gone from the class? Were they just finished anyway? Do people start & finish the units at different times?

I think exploring slowly is the best way and yes,making mistakes is important in learning… even for the ones with big vocabularies. The only ones who don’t make mistakes are the ones who never say anything.

October 25, 2007

Hmm… according to my calculations, you’ve been gone almost six weeks! When are you coming back? Can’t wait for an update!!! How time flies!

November 14, 2008

It all sounds so good. Glad to hear you are gaining strength & getting around.