Snow Day

Fred’s arthritic knee is feeling much better but he is still, very sensibly, taking it easy and using the walker around the house. We are supposed to have a few days of bad weather and we were running short of this and that so I volunteered to go to the store and get a few things. I have mentioned before that I dislike shopping for groceries, right? But I was reasonably pleased with myself that I got everything on the list we had made together before I left the house. I had very few problems finding everything on the list and had only one mini-tantrum to myself when I couldn’t find the spagetti sauce. This tantrum was broken off when I paused, looked at the signs above the aisles  and discovered I was standing right by the spaghetti sauce aisle which was quite clearly marked!

 

It was just beginning to snow when I left the house and when I got back to my car, all the windows were blocked with light, fluffy snow and I had to go around the car sweeping it off before I could get out of the parking lot. Most people in Vermont seem to be careful drivers but the one that wasn’t today was a woman who was right behind me when I was going to turn right onto Main St. Just as I got there, the red "do NOT turn right" arrow came on so I was sitting waiting for the cars to the left to come through. After they were through and the red arrow was gone, I did turn right and she immediately swept round and in front of me blowing her horn while she did so! Stupid woman! This kind of thing always both annoys and amuses me because she was in front of me at every stop light all the way down Main St until I turned left at a light and she didn’t; so what did she gain, maybe five whole seconds?

Last night I slept really well so I was surprised to find I needed an hour’s nap after lunch. Naps are good as long as they don’t mess up my night’s sleep and I don’t think this one will.

QUOTATIONS:

"There is only one success – to be able to spend your life in your own way."

Christopher Darlington Morley (1890-1957) 

 

Log in to write a note
December 7, 2008

I’m glad Fred’s taking it easy, but feeling better than he was! I find it so annoying, people honking their car horns just from sheer impatience and bad tempers! Makes me wanna get right out and go punch ’em in the nose. :o) !! hugs, Weesprite

Honkers annoy me. I try hard not to react with anger. Yesterday one swept around me and screeched to a halt, almost immediately, at a red light I pulled up beside, smiled and waved as though I thought he was a long lost friend. He looked as though he had swallowed a frog. Loved it.

December 7, 2008

I find myself having tantrums sometimes… ryn… that makes me hopeful… I know you’ve had challenges in your life… and have come out the otherside..

December 7, 2008

My mother always said, “One sleep brings another.” I have been looking at the Sony Reader. They came out with a new one with a touch screen.

December 7, 2008

That one driver who’s out to kill somebody always seems to find me. Weird, aren’t they?

I’ve had that happen and wish that the police would catch the moron driver.

December 7, 2008

ryn: Oh no…. not evil… just sweetly introducing you to more Christmas music… what did you download? I love Christmas music.

December 7, 2008

oh and I forgot to ask, what did you buy? If you like mens a cappella groups, there is a new album out by a group called Straight No Chaser that is pretty good.

December 7, 2008

I do hope that Fred gets feeling better soon. I love looking at snow from the inside but loathe heading out in it. What a very rude woman to do that to you!

December 7, 2008

Shopping in the snow can take it out of a person.