Thanksgiving and After

  • Thanksgiving was a bit sad this year because I missed my lovely neighbors in Vermont who always brought me a plate of food and checked on me.
  • If you are wondering where Jake was, he was down in MS visiting his dad and his brother and, I am assuming, the rest of his relatives down there. I was pleased he was going  then rather than at Christmas since Christmas is important to me and Thanksgiving isn’t. This is because I am English and Thanksgiving isn’t an English holiday so I have no sentimental attachment to it. {This is why I said that Thanksgiving this year for me was only a "bit" sad.}
  • I am not doing the Black Friday thing. In fact, I have never done this. Well, when I was working at Waldenbooks {a chain book store}, we opened at 7 am instead of our normal 10 am but that is the nearest I have ever come to it!
  • I slept really well last night and thus I actually have a bit of energy this morning. My "big" job for the day is to change my sheets! Well, and do laundry but since the clever machines  are washing and drying with very little effort from me,  and the folding and putting away is done while watching Netflix, I can’t really say it is an onerous task!
  • Tomorrow I MUST go to the drug store. I get the necessary medications for three months at a time and on Saturday I will be out. I have already made the phone call to refill the subscriptions.  Actually, I may go today since my back is not hurting and I have some energy. But I am promising nothing.
  • On December 2nd, I am having the last test on my heart. Then there is nothing but time between me and surgery… It sounds a bit strange to say I am looking forward to this surgery, and perhaps a better phrase would be I am not dreading it because I am very tired of being not well. I know there will be a long period of healing from the surgery and a lot of physical therapy in my life again but, since I have done something like this before {uterine cancer 2000}, I am mentally prepared to do my part of the recovery.
  • OK, the clever washing machine has finished the first load and it is time to transfer clothes to the drier and put the second load in the washer.

An emotion is only an emotion.

It’s just a small part of your whole being.

You are much more than your emotion.

An emotion comes, stays for a while, and goes away, just like a storm.

If you’re aware of that, you won’t be afraid of your emotions.

 

~Thich Nhat Hanh

 

If you are distressed by anything external, the pain is not due to the thing itself, but to your estimate of it; and this you have the power to revoke at any moment. — Marcus Aurelius

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note

Love those clever machines!

November 29, 2013

So do you have a washer & dryer in your apartment now, or were you writing this from the laundromat?

November 29, 2013

I need to change bedding but it will have to wait – gotta cook so those grands and the great will have dinner tomorrow In fact I should be doing that instead of sitting here. Oh well, this is more fun!

November 29, 2013

i had to use those clever machines today. and i’ve got to use the one in the kitchen later today. i need to change out my sheets. they are clean and ready to go on the bed but it’s such a big job to me that i’m overwhelmed and end up not doing it. i have gone black friday shopping twice and never again. i don’t need anything so bad that it would make me fight crowds like i saw on tv this morning.i’m glad you are near one of your boys with this surgery coming up. take care,

November 29, 2013

I am wondering if anyone around us would have appreciated a plate of Thanksgiving dinner–such a good idea and meaningful to the receiver, I’m sure. I totally understand your comment about looking forward because it’s really that you are looking forward to feeling better. I think my husband feels the same way about his tests and information gathering re: his lung problems. Our best.