Thinking…

I have always been a person who could do whatever needed to be done. I never thought of myself as a high energy person but whatever needed to be done got done. Unfortunately, after the hip surgery a year ago, I am no longer that person. I am wondering if this is something I should just accept at this age or does it have something to do with the hip surgery…   

Each day I seem to have a finite amount of energy and when it is gone, it is gone. This often takes me by surprise. Longtime readers know that a couple of years ago I was walking a couple of miles a day and enjoying it. This week, I came to the conclusion that I cannot walk half a mile or so twice a day. It wears me out. I did it for three days last week and needed two days to recover. Yesterday I did a deep clean of the kitchen and that was it for the day.

I am wondering if this is par for the course for total hip replacement patients or am I perhaps run down? Anemic? I see the hip doctor in October and that will be one of the long list of questions I am compiling to ask him, but meanwhile, I am wondering if I should get a checkup. It couldn’t hurt, could it…

QUOTATIONS:

"Step by step. I can’t think of any other way of accomplishing anything."

Michael Jordan

"Fear not for the future, weep not for the past."

Percy Bysshe Shelley (1792-1822) English poet

 

Log in to write a note

I would ask the doctor. It could be from the surgery or something else. I’ll keep you in my prayers. 🙂

September 5, 2008

I think it is probably a combination of aging and your hip surgery. I think you are wise to check things out with the doctor. I find some days I can do a lot more than other days.

September 5, 2008

no, a checkup would probably be a good idea. i think you know yourself well enough to know that something has changed since the surgery. maybe you are run down. maybe you need a different vitamin. try walking a quarter of a mile twice a day. try to rest a bit while you are doing things. don’t wear yourself out. space your energy. take care,

September 5, 2008

I’ve been wondering the same thing. I’ve not had much energy lately. On the other hand, I’ve been eating a lot more sugar (read: chocolate) lately. I went nearly three years without it, and now I’m making up for lost time. I know there’s got to be a correlation in there somewhere. I will be interested to know what your dr. says. Maybe a B-vitamin deficiency? Don’t know.

Might have them check your potassium levels and b-12 which is more likely to be low than iron. You probably know that already though, but I thought I would mention it in case you didn’t. Good luck with it. Serena

September 5, 2008

But you are 74 now, and you can’t expect to be able to do all the things that you used to do! I think you’re doing very well for your age!

I suspect it’s part of getting older…. I certainly notice it in my mid-50’s and I’m sure it will be more pronounced in 20 years. But you’re right, a checkup couldn’t hurt. And I’ll be anxious to hear what your hip doctor says about it, particularly since I am facing hip replacement surgery as well.

From my experience, it takes a long time to recover from surgery. Give yourself a year. Honestly, though, we are getting older and as we age, we do become less physically capable of handling things we used to. I used to be able to toss a 40 pound sack of dog food in the back of my car with no problem. I can still put a 40 pound sack of dog food in the back of car, but it isn’t a toss. It is more like a wrestling match. 😉

September 5, 2008

My get up and go, got up and went! 🙂 – – – –

September 5, 2008

I think you need to get your energy level back. It takes a while as we get older. i think once you are walking more you will work your way up to the walking again. Just have to give it time. I was working out last year and our gym closed and so i haven’t wokred out since Nov. Now the thought of working out sounds exhausting. But I loved my energy level when I did work out. It’s the payoff.

Pat
September 5, 2008

It may be just the natural progression of age, but it wouldn’t hurt to get a medical opinion about it. I certainly do not have the energy levels I had even a few years ago and I’m 20+ years younger than you!

September 5, 2008

After the recent experience with my dad I would say get yourself checked out. Don’t take chances.

September 5, 2008

Patricia, you sound just like my dad. He had both hips replaced several years ago and has NOT had the energy nor the ability to walk quickly or far since. Now, he also has had angioplasty, as he has congestive heart difficulties, which will likely be his demise, as it was for his mother and brother. His dad, my grandpa, also died from heart disease. YES, get a check up. You need to find out if something else is going on. Hugs,

September 5, 2008

Get a check up, God knows we all pay enough for our insurance plans! Hope you are up and running soon!

I would get the check-up. Did they give you blood during the surgery? It will ease your mind to know, even if you have to accept that one does just get older in life. And then, just try to do what you can, and accept that you need rest. If you are a bit ‘out of sorts’ you’ll get better quicker if you take care of yourself. Which I know you do usually.

September 5, 2008

I’m thinkin’ a doctor visit might be a good thing. Sure, people take time to recover from joint replacement, and that might be it. But I think I’d want to know that for sure, you know? I don’t think it would hurt to just be safe and certain. Love to you. PS.. David’s father is 90 and still has more energy than folks half his age…so I don’t think it’s cuz you’re 74..

September 5, 2008

A check up is always a good thing, but I find the last year since my legs have been bothering me (and I don’t even want to think about the weight gain), I’ve gotten tired so much more easily. There is another factor though, as we get older if we can’t keep up n our physical activity for any reason, it takes a lot to get our stamina back.

September 5, 2008

I think it’s always good to find out if anything needs “fixin'”….but I also suspect that it’s perfectly natural for people to just slow down at a certain point! And it’s good to embrace that and tell ourselves it’s okay! :o) !! hugs, Weesprite

September 5, 2008

I would certainly ask the doctor. In any case, I wouldn’t give up doing things, and just try to keep moving.

Even if you do 1/2 the things you used to do you are still doing more than most women your age. And men!

September 5, 2008

I’ll be curious to learn what the doctor says. I’ve been teaching from 4:30 till 9:15 PM every Tuesday and Thirsday night for several years now, but it seems that this year I’m more wiped out by 9:15 than I used to be. Maybe I just don’t remember right. Maybe there comes a point where the daily supply of expendable energy starts to decline. I hope not, for both of our sakes. Do you nap,by the way?

Shi
September 5, 2008

I hope you find your answers soon.