This Entry…

 

This entry is going to be mostly about how Verizon sucks and  is, yet again, being written on a library computer. You may remember that first Verizon told us that out DSL would be connected on the 9th. Then it was changed to the 11th which was yesterday. So, why no DSL you may well be asking? Fred and I certainly are!

So, this morning, I called the number we were given when we got our "Please call this toll-free number if you have any problems" and after wading through press this number and press that number was finally told we had two  orders and they were going to pass me on to a "service representative." That, people, means a Real Person!

 This person was very helpful when I tell her what the problem is and finally passes me on to tech support. And, amazingly, I get another  very helpful person! {I say amazingly because last time I called Verizon tech support after making me jump through their preprogrammed hoops, I was told that obviously there was something wrong with my computer and to call Microsoft! What he didn’t ask was what program I had installed recently. That I figured out for myself and after I uninstalled Norton, everything worked well!} Anyway, this woman tracked down the problem which, apparently was that the first of our two orders was to UNINSTALL the DSL we had in the upstairs apartment and the second order was to INSTALL the DSL downstairs— and the hangup was that the first order was still pending which meant they couldn’t do the second! 

Have you ever heard anything more annoying! I mean the order for uninstallment was put in {and I am remembering this because I didn’t ask her} before the order for reinstallment and that was the 29th of last month! She was very apologetic and said she thought we would get a phone call to say it was done today or if not, Monday. Of course, she may have no idea what she was talking about and just doing the "placate the customer" routine but if that is what it was, it did work. But I am going to call again on Monday to see where the DSL is AND this time, I have the tech support number and can go strait there withougt having to jump through there "press this button" routine!  I actually used to have  it on the outside of a folder marked Verizon that wason my computer desk but is now in a box marked "Patricia/Computer desk" put in the wrong place somewhere among the boxes still in the living room and dining room.

In other news, things are getting done albeit slowly. We have discovered we need to buy furniture and what with one thing or another we haven’t been getting out to look. We need a comfortable reading chair for Fred, a good reading light  and a couch.

The kitchen is in fairly good shape although we are still asking each other "Where is the whateveritis?" The art room is almost set up. The bedroom is almost complete. I still have to unpack some more clothes on hangers and put them away. The dining room needed work and the living room needs LOTS of work!

When I told Fred I was coming down to the library to write an Open Diary entry, he said, "Say ‘Hi’ for me."

So, Fred says "Hi!

Until later….

 

Log in to write a note
August 12, 2006

Verizon should not have linked the two orders. Just making those non-linked would probably have had you up and running by now. Grrrrrr. It’s always the simple things brainless companies can make difficult! Good to see you online again, and say hi to Fred from us!

Oh it’s lovely to hear from you. Hi back to dear Fred. I’m sorry everything is all messed up with the DSL and I hope it gets sorted soon. We miss you!!!!!!!!!!! *hugs*

Shi
August 12, 2006

Hope everything gets sorted soon.

August 12, 2006

Geez, I hate dealing with those people. We are on Verizon at work for our cell phones, and they messed up so bad one time, they shut off ALL our phones for not paying a bill that THEY sent to the wrong address! I got shuffled to the “problem paying customer” department and literally had to SCREAM at some moron to get them to fix the problem. I sympathize with your frustration. Want me to call up and scream at them for you? I’m good at it!

August 12, 2006

moving is always such hassle – not just the big things but the very little ones too.

August 12, 2006

good morning!! nice to hear from you again. i just don’t understand big business and their failure to take care of their customers. i hope you get your dsl soon. take care,

And “Hi” back to Fred – and to you. good to hear you’re both percolatin’ along.

NIGHTMARE!

August 12, 2006

Gee, I hope you’ll SOON have your DSL! I’m glad you drop by once in awhile to update us, anyway. You are missed when you’re not around. So glad to hear things are getting done….slowly is good! :o) !! hugs, Weesprite

Hi back. To you both. Your entries are missed. Hope that Verizon get their act together fast.

August 12, 2006

Good grief…rough patch with no DSL. Say hi to Fred for me! Glad to hear you are settling in downstairs and that the two most important rooms (kitchen and art room) are in good shape.

That Verizon stuff IS annoying! Hope it gets straightened out soon. Very soon. Hi Fred!

August 12, 2006

That is totally obnoxious.

August 12, 2006

I hope things are set up soon. I miss Fred.

August 12, 2006

What a pain in the #$%^#!! Do they not want your service? Some of these places are so rinky dink you just get fed up with them!

August 12, 2006

say hello to Fred too. And boy, that sounds terrible with Verizon. You’d think *thats where the problem starts* that they would get it together and KNOW the proper way of doing things…

Always press 0 (or #) to get to the customer service reps. It works every time. 🙂

August 12, 2006

Moving is hell. The next time (and I pray that there will never be a next time…) I’m gonna hire someone else to do it all. I don’t think I could handle it otherwise. Hope that DSL gets through for you two, I couldn’t imagine not having it.

August 13, 2006

These automated phone systems make me totally crazy. I am proud to work at a facility that still has PEOPLE running their phone system. I sure hope you get your DSL today! Anna

August 13, 2006

I’m not looking forward to this part of it! Nope. David says he always has trouble with the phone company when heh moves… I’m hoping this time will be the exception! Hang in there! Sooner or later it will all be okay. Love to you! ~M

August 13, 2006

*huggs*

i hope that by monday you have everything squared away.

August 14, 2006
August 15, 2006

I have been here a month and a half now, and have boxes with fiddly stuff, that I don’t want to chuck out, and have no place to put them. I take days off from unpacking! 🙂 Hope you get your DSL sorted out soon. Most annoying!