A Quick Update

 

  • Verizon STILL sucks. Now our reconnection to DSL is the 11th! {This is being written at the library}
  • On the other hand, the Dish Network is excellent. We were connected this morning and much to my pleasure, we have BBC America!
  • Adelphia also sucks. Their phones are not working. Apparently, Fred says, one gets to the place {"press one, press another number, cry and stand on your head if you want to talk to a human being"} where one wants to get to,  and the phone goes dead…
  • The bathroom is mostly unpacked
  • The kichen is unpacked
  • My art room is progressing nicely
  • The bedroom is mostly unpacked
  • Still to do are the dining room and the living room.
  • I LOVE being able to use the washer and dryer any time.
  • Bryce {new landlord} is banging around upstairs. I think he is redoing the floor.
  • I have just finished reading three trilogies {yes, nine books} by Robin Hobbs. They are excellent.
  • I am now reading The Alienist by Caleb Carr. This is our book club choice for this month.  I am enjoying it and will definitely read more by him.
  • Ok, I am outa here. I hope the next update comes from my own computer.
  • Oh, and have I mentioned Verizon sucks?

Until later….

 

Log in to write a note

I have to giggle at someone I think of as a Mom using “sucks”. TWICE!

August 8, 2006

Glad to hear things are progressing. also, don’t sugar coat your feelings about Verizon. Tell us how you really feel!!!! Ha Ha.

August 8, 2006

I giggled too…. about crying and standing on your head to get to talk to a real person. And apparently that doesn’t even work, cuz then ya get cut off! :o) !! I hope next update will be from your own computer too…. but everything else sounds great!! Especially the washer-and-dryer part! :o) !! hugs, Weesprite

August 8, 2006

Sorry about the connection, glad the rest of moving seems to have gone smoothly.

I very much look forward to you coming back 🙂

August 8, 2006

so glad you are getting settled in to your new place. i’m reading the final book of the tawny man trilogy. i wonder if the library has the other trilogies by robin hobb. sure hope you get your verizon dsl connection soon. take care,

August 8, 2006

I enjoyed the Alienist too. It was fun picking out the various bits that he was alluding to, but still managed to keep it in the right place and time.

August 8, 2006

Often those ‘press one, press two” things can be short circuited to an actual person by pressing ###. Or by pressing 000, or by pressing nothing, at which time some of those automated thingies think that you might (just possibly) be calling from a rotary phone. There’s a web site that lists the ‘cheat codes’ for some of those automated systems. Wish I could come up iwth it off the top of my head.

August 8, 2006
August 8, 2006

I can’t wait for you to get back on with your own computer. I miss your notes (and you) terribly!!! Nice to know what you’ve been up to.

Hopefully this isn’t too late to be helpful, but I’m just over the border in NY and a bit south of you. We’ve recently been informed that Adelphia has been bought out by Time Warner. We haven’t gotten our new bill yet, but the new TV guide channel banner says Time Warner. They’re flooding us with commercials, but I haven’t gotten a new bill yet.

Shi
August 8, 2006

Hopefully everything will be sorted with you soon.

You’re not the first person to have trouble with DSL from Verizon…it’s a nightmare for many. There was an article in todays paper about it…this guy waited 3 months for his and then the newspaper people had to get involved before somethign happened for him. Ewwww! Glad to hear your getting the place in order 🙂

Your new digs sound spacious. Are the washer and dryer on the same level? Hope so. You’ve made good progress unpacking!

August 8, 2006
August 8, 2006

Wow! What a steady pace you and fred and making with this unpacking. sheez, louise!!! I’m glad you are finding time to relax and drink jax:) LOL I mean relax and read, of course! Will keep awaiting updates – the internet connection will come in time… vista Way

August 9, 2006

Oh, I had forgotten you have an art room now. THAT’S THE MOST EXCITING ROOM OF ALL!! I just know you’ll love it! Anna

August 9, 2006

It’s amazing how much you can get done when you aren’t sucked into the internet world. When our internet goes down here I do a ton of work. When it works I find myself always on the internet. At least it’s fun. Will there be pictures of the new place when you get back online?

August 9, 2006

I liked The Alienist. I’ll be interested to see how you like it. Glad unpacking is processing well. And as for Verizon… my son moved into his apartment on July 1. He still doesn’t have a dial tone on his phone.

August 10, 2006

Glad you made the MOVE! I’m just catching up…and anxious to hear all about it!

how frustrating. hoping that by the weekend, you’ll be writing from your own computer and you’ll feel more settled.