This & That

On Saturday I got a brochure from Fairpoint telling me that they are taking over from Verizon {which I knew} and that I will have to change my email address by the end of January {which I had hoped wouldn’t happen!} Well, it will be mildly annoying more than difficult.

On the subject of annoying, I got the first two seasons of "House, MD" for Christmas–no, I haven’t got to the annoying bit yet–and much to my annoyance, I couldn’t get it to play on my little MacBook! But, I am glad to say that it worked beautifully on my IMac and I got to see Hugh Laurie on the BIG screen. I am wondering if it wouldn’t work on the Macbook because the disks are two-sided disks. Any one know?

I had a lovely massage yesterday and feel much better this morning. Usually, I am the only client she sees on a Sunday and although I pay for 90 minutes, I often get extra time. Yesterday just after I had turned over, there was a knock at the door and another client arrived! Beth ZIPPED through the front bits because  I think she had forgotten this other woman was coming!

Today I think I am going to do some retail therapy just to get out. I have been confined to the house because of the huge-unknown-amount of snow but in the last few days, the temperature has risen and the roads are clear of snow, and more importantly, ice! I am still thinking about it because I am not a great one for the after-Christmas sales—I prefer to buy on line, but there are a few bits and pieces I could find a need for.

QUOTATIONS:

"There is only one success – to be able to spend your life in your own way."

Christopher Darlington Morley (1890-1957)

 

"Judgement comes from experience, and great judgement comes from bad experience."

Robert Packwood

 

Log in to write a note

E and I LOVE House!!!! Ooooh, a massage sounds lovely right now! Bet you missed those few extra minutes! LOL Bless your heart, as a fellow RLSer I feel for ANYONE who has to go through that! Hugs,M

December 29, 2008

There’s a great massage place nearby – or at least within my circle of errands – I’ve been thinking of getting a massage there. I’d gotten my first (and only) massage there in August. For impulse shopping, there’s nothing like a store!

December 29, 2008

i just adore hugh laurie and his protrayal of dr house! he’s great. i saw him on a talk show recently and could hardly believe he has to ‘do’ an american accent on the show. i had no idea. take care,

December 29, 2008

Since Joey introduced us to the show “House,” Joe likes it and is always watching it. I like the show, but get mad at House for being so cantankerous to people! I had to shop today because we had no food! I noticed the Christmas stuff in the store was all 75% off….but at some stores it was that way before Christmas, too! hugs, Weesprite

December 29, 2008

I’m supposed to get therapeutic massage on my neck for tension headaches. I’ll have to book an appointment.

December 29, 2008

House is always fun to watch. Hugh Laurie is so cute, and such a cynic, how can I possibly not like him? I have no idea what to do about the dvd problem, I fear. And yes, retail therapy can be great fun.

I just bought season 4 of House.:)

December 31, 2008

If your MacBook plays other DVDs without any problem, then chances are that the problem is due to the particular type of media used to record the “House” DVD. If your MacBook will NOT play other DVDs, then either there is a problem with the CD/DVD drive or the DVD software. There is a third possibility, you may have purchased a MacBook that only plays CDs not DVDs. Hope this helps.

Sometimes you just have to get out and into the stores. I had my friends in shock when I told them I was at Circuit City and Barnes and Noble located in the newest “Yuppie Mall”. Then I even went to TJ Maxx to check out underwear. There were no bargains there, but I found treasures at the Dollar Tree next door!!! Have a great New Years Eve… hopefully 2009 will be better for everybody….