Thoughts on the Trip

Because I have taken the countdown away {It made me anxious}. a lot of noters have wondered when I actually go. Well, the magic day is Saturday. Yes, this coming Saturday. The-end-of-this-week Saturday… And I will be in Lucca for six weeks.

I am taking my Mac Book with me and I have been told I can get hooked up to the school’s wireless network. But I have no idea how long this will take. I plan to write every evening using the word processor, save it and post when I can even if it is when I come back!

  • I have done a lot of thinking and organizing in my head about packing.
  • However, I haven’t actually started!  I will start on the packing tomorrow.
  • The intestinal problems that kept me out of physical therapy this morning seem to have corrected themselves.
  • I am getting very tired of physical therapy. But there are only two more sessions scheduled and one of them is in the pool.
  • Although I am tired of physical therapy, there is no doubt that it is working. Recovery is painfully slow but I am seeing improvement. My left leg still buckles under me but not as quickly as it was doing.
  • I will continue with exercises while I am in Italy.
  • I am thinking about taking two pieces of luggage rather than one. I always carried a squishy roll-up bag inside the suitcase when I went to England to bring back all the clothing I "liberated" from my sister or bought from M&S. Now I think I will put my coat, a second pair of shoes and a couple of heavy sweaters in it. I am still thinking about this.
  • Weather in September/October can be very changeable. I am thinking layering. But I still need a jacket of some kind.
  • At the moment, I am not planning on buying a lot. Or actually, even a little except food. The dollar is very weak and the whole thing is costing me a lot more than I had anticipated. We shall see…

QUOTATIONS:

"Step by step. I can’t think of any other way of accomplishing anything."

Michael Jordan

If you have the courage to begin, you have the courage to succeed.

— David Viscott

Log in to write a note
September 10, 2007

you are going to have THE best time! I’m so jealous!!! 🙂

September 10, 2007

I really look forward to reading your posts about Italy. I’ve always wanted to go there. I hope you take tons and tons of pictures. I plan to live vicariously!!

Shi
September 10, 2007

wow that’s great it’s almost here.

September 10, 2007

unfortunately, I don’t think I’ll visit Lucca, but we should keep in touch, who knows?

September 10, 2007

I am so impressed you are making this journey. It has been something I’ve always wanted to do, and hopefully at some point I will be able to take such a trip as this!

September 10, 2007
September 10, 2007

Wow. Six WEEKS. I’ve never gone anywhere for more than a week. I can’t wait to read about your adventures!!!

September 10, 2007

WOW! Have a wonderful trip. Yes I would take two smaller valises as they are much easier to manage.

I bet Fred will miss you for 6 weeks.

September 10, 2007

i am looking forward to your trip too! Please do write daily to keep us in the loop. i have been to Europe, but not Italy, and it is one of my planned destinations. Hugs,

Can’t wait to read your posts about Italy!!! You’re going to have such a good time!!! Does Fred have anything planned for while you are gone? I’m sure he will miss his dear Patrisha. Hugs to you both! M

Two pieces of luggage sounds like a good idea. Whatever you don’t pack will be the thing you wish you had packed!!! With two pieces, you may not have this problem. You’re going to have a grand time!!! And, since you’ll still be healing, it will actually force you to take things slowly and really “see” everything, instead of just rushing by things. Blessings to you.

September 10, 2007

I’m looking forward to hearing that you’re there and having a great time. 🙂 (huggles)

September 11, 2007

wow….it is THIS Saturday?! I did not know it was that close!! How exciting! :o) !! hugs, Weesprite

September 11, 2007

I’m so excited for you, Patrisha! Italy in the early fall sounds like heaven on earth to me! Like one of your noters, I will do this trip vicariously with you! Anna

September 11, 2007

i know you will have a very interesting and fun trip. i’m sure you will enjoy yourself! wish i had the courage to do something like you’re doing! take care,

Almost there. 🙂 I hope that you’ll have good weather – the climate is somewhat crazy here in Europe this year.

September 11, 2007

Gosh the time has passd so quickly. I think one case with wheels would be easier to manage. I’m in Ireland and we are still in t-shirts here, not that we’ve had a sunny summer but it is still mild. Who knows when it may change, but a light jacket might be enough. I hope you have a fabulous trip, Italy is a country I would love to visit. Looking forward to reading about your trip. Take care. 😉

September 11, 2007

I am so excited for you!!! and I wish I was coming with you!!! *huggs*

September 11, 2007

Wow, this is going to be SO amazing for you!!! WHEE!

September 11, 2007

I wish there were something that all of your OD readers here could do collectively to give you some kind of an online going-away party. We are all so absolutely thrilled for you. I might not be as excited about it as YOU are, but I’m pretty close! 🙂

November 14, 2008

Great quotes. I had to come back & see how your trip went.