Today

Today was our book club meeting and I was very anxious about it for several reasons. First, it was my choice  of subject and so I had to be there to run it. Secondly, we had four inches of snow on Thursday and until the drive was cleared, there was no way I could make it out. Thirdly, even if the drive was cleared, I was very worried about backing out because last year, I backed myself into a pile of snow, got stuck and had to get AAA to get me out.

So, my mind was eased a bit when Fred told me he had heard the landlord cleaning the drive on Friday evening. I went out this morning and although he hadn’t done a great job, getting out was doable once I got the four inches of snow off my car! This was eventually done and I backed out and put my car on the street. I left early because I wasn’t sure about the parking. The slots right outside the library are 30 minutes from 7 am until 7 pm and strictly enforced because I got a parking ticket there once. I had hopes that the only 30 minute ban was only on weekdays, but, no, it was all the time. This meant I had to drive all around the block {which included the infamous roundabout] and go looking for another place. Fortunately, I found a 2 hour parking space about half a block away and got into that. I was carrying several copies of the poems by Philip Larkin that  I was going to read and several slippery paperbacks of poems my sister had given me. I mention the slipperiness of them because my coat was also slippery and I dropped the books into the snow twice on my way to the library!

The meeting was very nice. It was my choice of  subject– your favorite poem{s} –and the people there kept giving me their choices of poems to read which I didn’t mind at all since I LOVE reading aloud! I began by reading read "This be the Verse" whice is the one that begins "They f*ck you up, your mum and dad…" and later, my very favorite poem by Larkin, "The Old Fools."

After the meeting was over,  I went to get groceries because I had volunteered to do this to save Fred a trip since I was going to be out anyway. In my head I could hear my Auntie Babs saying, "Take those plates and the cup since you are going into the kitchen, anyway!" She was a big believer in doing more than one thing at a time! Fred had made me a list of what we needed AND, it was in order so that I could begin with the produce and proceed in an orderly manner round the store! I got everything and beeped the horn when I got home. I walked the bags to the door and he took over from there!

Before supper, I looked at my pedometer and I had done over 5, 000 steps today without even getting on the treadmill!

QUOTATIONS:

"There is only one success – to be able to spend your life in your own way."

Christopher Darlington Morley (1890-1957)

 

Log in to write a note
December 13, 2008

Glad you made it to the reading group safely. Sounds scary in the snow.

We had about three times the amount of snow, here. I didn’t even try to go out.

December 13, 2008

Everything is so much more difficult in the winter…and time consuming. Your opening poem sounds intriguing.

December 13, 2008

Winter and I are not friends. 🙂 – – – –

Heehee, that’s how I do things too. I cannot leave a romm to go in to the kitchen without taking something with me. Same goes for leaving the lr to go to the bedroom or my craft room. So glad you were able to get to your meeting. Sounds like you enjoyed yourself! HUgs,M

yay for a productive day and for not getting stuck in the snow!

December 13, 2008

I also believe in doing more than one thing at a time. For example when I am on the phone I will make the bed, wash the dishes etc. When I walk down the hall I take anything and everything that needs to go down that hall.

December 13, 2008

Gee, after reading your entry I remember how inconvenient snow can be at times! Maybe I should stop wishing for it so much! I would’ve LOVED to be at that meeting, because I love poetry, and reading it aloud, also. Wow, those spaces outside the library should be for at least an hour! I could never get in and out of the library in just half an hour! Who can pick out books that fast?! hugs, Weesprite

December 13, 2008

A friend of mine and I often refer to that verse about mom and dad! I try to make all my errands in one day – a large loop – sometimes I have to backtrack though (like yesterday) But you’re right – all the more walking.