A day in Toronto, and an evening with Yanni

I had Ethan at my place last week while Jon is at summer camp. We haven’t been doing very much this week, just hanging out and chilling… doing what he would’ve done at his mamma’s place without the need to hire help for an hourly wage. I really enjoyed the extra time with my oldest son, and we topped off that week with a full day in Toronto.

We took an early bus into the city, getting there around 9am, and then walked around downtown, hitting a few used video game shops for Ethan to look for some items we couldn’t find in our city. We had lunch at the park, and then nit the Eaton Centre to do more browsing. We manged to find a few toys and games that Ethan had been looking for and they were a lot cheaper than we had hoped they’d be.

We did a bit more walking around town, crashed a few coffee shops charge our electronics and drink hot chocolate. Around 5pm, we hit a place for pizza for supper. Ethan surprised me by saying we could have anchovies on our pizza as long as we had green peppers on it too, which made me happy cause I love both of those items. After supper we took a decent hike up to the venue where our concert was being held. We arrived an hour before the show, and took our seats.

I listen to a lot of instrumental music whenever I’m writing, because music without words is less distracting.. so I’ve been listening to Yanni a lot for some time, and Ethan loved listening to it to while working on his clay and drawings. One time a few months ago when we were both listening to his music, I told Ethan Yanni was coming to Toronto this summer, and asked if he wanted to see the show. To my surprise, Ethan seemed excited so I picked up tickets for the show.

The concert started around 8pm, and Ethan really got into it which made me feel relieved cause I was worried he might get bored. Instead he recognized a lot of the music I’d play at the house and was excited to hear them and take in the amazing performance. Since this was an outdoor venue, the skies were clear and the breeze kept things very cool, making for a nice atmosphere for the show.

This was Ethan’s first time seeing Yanni, but this was my second concert as I saw him another time in 2012. That concert was also amazing, but that time he didn’t play my favorite piece… but this time I’m happy to say I heard a lot of songs this time around I missed last time and was happy I came out to see the show.

This was the 25th Anniversary of his Live from the Acropolis album, so I knew we’d hear a lot of his best hits.

Here’s a video from the concert:

As I previously mentioned… Yanni performed my favorite this time around, a piece called Reflections of Passion:

It was another amazing show, and I’m so happy that Ethan also had a good time.

Ethan was exhausted when we got home, because according to my fit app… we walked over 30,000 steps that day in Toronto.

In all it was a great day in the city, one I am not sure either of us will forget.

Peter

 

Log in to write a note
July 26, 2018

I like some of Yannies music….I think I even have a CD by him…..I really enjoy music.

July 29, 2018

I’ve always loved Yanni… I have so many favourites… Tribute.. Nightingale… Prelude…  he is great to play on the piano… I’m so out of practice .. you have inspired me to get back to it.. glad you had a wonderful evening.