A few updates…

Health wise I am doing all right, but there are some other things I need to update on. I haven’t heard back from the Neurology department I’m supposed to follow up with, but I contacted emerg and they refaxed the referral out just to be sure it went out, which was nice of them to do for me. I’m a little eager to see someone else for this cause I’m not 100% sure what’s going on and would like to know more asap. I’m going to call again tomorrow if I haven’t heard anything back. I’m a tad impatient and want someone to confirm an appointment with them as soon as possible. Wouldn’t you be a little impatient as well when dealing with what they think I have?

Leah on the other hand is another matter all together. She seems to be in complete denial. She’s seems to be clinging to the fact that the doctors in emerg must be wrong and there is nothing wrong with my head. I’d like to believe that myself… but I have to be cautious until told otherwise. It’s just not worth the risk right now, just incase that bloke happens to be right. I’d be a liar if I said I followed every instuction that I’ve ever been given by a doctor, but this time the risk is too high to not believe him. Any internal bleed is very serious, and while I too have my doubts (as many do), I have to be cautious and take care of my head to make sure the worst doesn’t happen. I’m eager to get to the bottom of this to prove/disprove what is really going on, but until then… I’m taking it easy.

Speaking of taking it easy, I made a move I should have made a few weeks ago. I quit my job. I was considering leaving for a while, but the health risk was the final straw. I was working on Tuesday and having a rough day. As the customers were screaming at me, I could feel that hard trob at the back of my head and I finally decided taking all this crap and working at this place was no longer worth it. I quit and walked right out. A friend of mine from work wants me to apply for ‘Constructive dismissal’, something I was kinda iffy about myself. He forwarded me a link that gave the legal definition of what it was and asked me to read it. I had my doubts, but after scanning over what the board says is the definition of the term… I actually do qualify for it. I can claim that the company changed the status of my job so much that it wasn’t the same job I applied for. As a result the board would punish the company for making me walk out with a one time fine that would go to me. I plan to file my claim tomorrow… nothing to lose and everything to gain at this point.

Stress has been reduced a great deal since leaving work and I think that was for the best until I figure out what’s going on. Hanging out and spending more time with Ethan and Jonathan isn’t a bad thing either and I’ll enjoy as much time with them as I can until the next job comes around. Like I said before, I’m taking it easy and helping more around the house. I think the kids like having me around a bit more, and more Dad isn’t a bad thing.

I hope everyone else is doing all right, and I’ll be back to post another entry when I have more to pass on. Until then, everyone take it easy and have a good Thursday. Friday is just a day away!

Peter

Log in to write a note
June 21, 2007
June 21, 2007

You are less of a man because you are not out providing for your family and putting food on the table while your biblically submissive wife stays at home with the kids! Um… right…? 🙂

June 21, 2007

Hope that application goes through. One day at a time is the best we cab do. I’m hoping for an easy resolution for you. From “up on the mountain”.

June 21, 2007

Does Canada have the equivilent of temporary disability? Here in the states we pay into SDI, which is different from the disability that I’m on. Mine is permanent and is very hard to get approved for. You have to be very ill and it has to be expected to last years to get approved… but SDI is a temp thing that is very easy to get approved for and they pay u a portion of ur pay until ur well.

June 21, 2007

Just something to think about- though I’m sure you probably already have. I don’t know the laws or how things work to the north, but I thought I’d mention it just in case it was relevent to u. Good luck getting into the neuro. U gotta stay on top of them to get an appt- if it’s anything like it is here!!! Hang in there, Jamie

Good luck!

June 21, 2007

I had meant to leave you a message earlier to see how you were doing, glad you are holding up and I hope you get that appointment soon, keep us updated, and feel better,

June 21, 2007
June 22, 2007

Man the job comepletely flipped sicne you first interviewed and got it huh? Sorry to hear it; I remember you were stoked about it! You really need to see Evil Dead: The Musical. We gave it (back) to you 😉

June 22, 2007

Please do let us know how you’re feeling. Good luck Pete.