How to stop an exploding man…

This title is dedicated to my fellow fans of the show ‘Heroes’… I too am eagerly awaiting the show to return in September. My meaning of using that title is different all together.

I went into work yesterday and I tried my best to not stress myself out after the chaotic day I had on Friday. I’m not in the mood to really repeat it. If you want to know what happened, go back to the previous entry. I not sure how you walk into work and tell the workplace the news I was given the day before, but I didn’t get a chance to try. My Team Leader was working that day, but before I got a chance to ask for a momen to speak, he disappeared. I was told that he was scheduled to leave early and I never got a chance to speak with him. I’ll have to try again on my next day. Since I wasn’t able to talk to my TL, I decided to break the news to my bud in the commercial division who is incharge of my softball team. I pretty much had to tell him that until further notice, I should be keeping all physical activity to a minimum until they find out what and where the problem is. He was a little stunned (who wouldn’t be) but understood that I need to take care of myself and that when compared to stuff like that, softball is insignificant.

I talked to a few close friends about what happened, and it was nice to talk to some people about what happened and be able to toss around a few questions and suggestions. This kind of conversation has been hard to establish at home right now… Leah and Chris don’t seem to eager to talk about the condiction, and I’m not going to push them into something they might be unconfortable with at the moment. I’m not going to drag them into talking about something kicking and screaming… when they’re ready, they’ll come to me and then we’ll talk.

One cool thing about Friday I forgot to tell everyone is when I came home from the hospital, I had a bandage on my elbow from where they put an IV into my arm for blood widtrawl and dye injection for the CAT scan. Ethan saw this and asked if I had a ‘boo boo’ and I said yes, and he proceeded to kiss my bandage to make it better. Pretty sweet kid I have there, eh?

My head for the most part feels fine. I’ve had a dull ache every now and then and have been a bit dizzy here and there, but that could be nerves cause I’ve been on pins and needles since leaving the General. The fact that it only hurts when I exert myself is likely the reason why I’m still not at the hospital right now still getting tested. As long as I don’t stress myself out or push my body too hard, I should be fine which is why I’m working hard to lower both to an absolute minimum for now. I’m not a dire emergancy just yet, so those who are deserve to be at the front of the line. I’m going to meet with a neurologist some time this week or next week, and then I’ll ask for an MRI or MRA booked to make sure we know for sure what’s going on. I might have a bit of a wait for that machine, but I’ll just stay on cruise control until then and not freak out at anything at home or at work. A daunting task, but I’ll make my best efforts.

Today is father’s day, but as I said above I’m not up to going anywhere or doing anything special. I want to relax and rest… maybe watch the bluejay game and just take things easy. I was able to sleep in until 10am (which is huge for this household) and Chris has taken off to do the shopping for us which I appreciated. He’s been good during this ordeal and I apprecaite his support. For those who are concerned, I’m doing all right. I’m resting, I’m relaxing and my first day back at work was stress free and went fast. I’m having a good father’s day and I hope everyone out there does too.

Peter

Log in to write a note
June 17, 2007

Happy Father’s Day, feel better

June 17, 2007

I’m glad you are doing alright. Very happy you will be seeing a neurologist and asking for an MRI and MRA. They can do them both at the same time, in the same machine… it will just seem like a double MRI to you (length wise). Just hang on til then, stay calm, and keep things low key. And about Leah… sometimes illness is much harder on those around us, those who love us, than it even is

June 17, 2007

on us, or the one who is actually sick. It’s strange how that happens, but I think my illness last year was way harder on my mom and dad emotionally. She’ll come around though… she’s just trying to digest it all. Also, she might be afraid of bringing it up with you, as not to upset u more. Anyway, hope things go well with your appointment. Demand answers.