And the Quarantine keeps on trucking…

I have a confession to make, I’m getting ready for the long game.

Regardless of what happens in the next few months or so… I’m preparing to remain in quarantine for some the summer if not all the way to September. Even if everything reopens, I plan to practice social distancing a lot longer than anyone else would want to even fathom.

It’s not that I like the solitude, but I have conditions that make me high risk. I have A.S., and for that I take a biologic IV that compromises my immune system. That means if I ever got this fucking Wuhan Virus, it would hit me ten times harder than the average person. So it doesn’t matter if the economy reves back up and gets back on track, or if every shop, mall and stadium goes back to business… I have to accept that my self isolation might last a little longer than most would like it to. I’m okay with that, because the alternative sucks even more than that… cause I’d be fucking dead.

I’ve spent 95% of my last two months indoors, the other 5% only being to step out and get food and meds. I wears masks, keep my distance, but I realize that I am taking a huge risk going out but I really have no choice. I have no one who can go out and pick this shit up for me, and even though I should say no, I still have the kids come over for their weekends. Their visits are the only thing that makes all this bearable, so that’s not stopping.

At the moment I’m in good health. No symptoms to speak of, so knock on wood there. I haven’t been ill since my last staph infection which was in early January, but I was taking so many antibiotics that I pity any virus that tried to attack me over the last few months. Besides the usual aches and pains that comes with my regular condition, I’ve been alright.

I’m watching movies, binging shows…. but I’m also doing my usual work. Writing comic books and novels, so not much has changed here. You’re not going to hear me gripe cause I know there are probably a lot of people out there in worse conditions, and I hope they’re doing better and getting back to normal sooner than later.

I’m also getting some work done. Writing comic books, novels, and what not. Self isolation is a tad easier for me cause I already work from home, so not much of an adjustment for yours truly. So I can still make a bit of coin, which helps but I can understand why everyone else is getting a little antsy and eager to get back out there. Many people are used to earning their keep, and staying at home just goes against everything they were taught growing up about making your own way and not taking handouts, etc.

Well, I have good news and bad news for you all:

The good news is nothing lasts forever… and that includes quarantines and pandemics.

The bad news is nothing lasts forever… even love and life.

Take it easy everyone, this will all be over before you know it.

Cheers,

Peter

Log in to write a note
April 24, 2020

I love your attitude….I wish people would see this virus like you do.  I have a feeling you and I are the only ones who want to stay put till there are no more cases and the curve is finally flattens.  I don’t have anything as serious as you do but I am still going to stay put till further notice or till I think it’s totally safe.

Question?  Has any of your comic books been published?  And are you one of those who can look at someones work and give pointers?

April 25, 2020

I am recovering from the virus and have been very sick.  Not with respiratory symptoms, but GI symptoms.  I must have contracted it before March 17th because I’ve been darn careful since the lock down.  Here in Michigan lock down continues until May 15th.

May 1, 2020

Arlen and I have been isolated for 8 weeks.  Then I had to go to the ophthalmologist last week.  I have to have a very small procedure done, so we will be going out 3 more times over the next two weeks.  We wear masks and attempt to keep our distance.  I also have issues.  I have asthma and the common cold keeps me coughing up my lungs for 3-4 weeks.

May 4, 2020

this is our 8th week at home, my husband has chronic leukemia so our new practices will likely last a lifetime at this point, masks and avoiding people, thankfully his job is pretty solitary and out in the bush,

good to hear you still are having time with your kids, the quilt is currently at a standstill, I need to get some supplies and they are very difficult to get at this point, but as soon as it’s done I’ll let you know,

take care and be safe!