Another movie update…

It’s been a while since I posted an update about the short film that I have written and plan to produce and direct very soon. I’ve actually got some great news to pass along… some updates that will get things rolling sooner rather than later. There have been some major developments and things are starting to move quickly. Not only are we making definite plans for this short film, but are starting to make early plans for other projects as well. We’ve pretty much decided we’re going to take multiple kicks at the can before calling it a career.

The first update came from a friend named Chris. He and I are splitting production duties on this project. Chris called around to get prices on renting equipment to shoot the film and get access to editing tools. Turns out that one company offers a class that teaches you how to use all the equipment and the editing room, and if you take the class (cost = $200) then you get unlimited free access to equipment and editing room. For the amount of projects we want to make, that would make the price of the class well worth it. We’d get our $200 bucks work out shooting and editing mulitple projects and what not.

I started to make plans to stash away money for this course. The only thing that would make taking this course a royal pain is Leah’s rather harsh schedule. It was something I was determined to work around, but it seems like that will no longer be a problem. A week after I got news about that company and their course, Chris called again to let me know that a friend of his was already taking the course and was offering to give us access to the equipment and editing room. The only condition to this access was a part in the short film. Chris had let him preview the script and he thought it was great and wanted a role. Seems like a fair trade to me, and I quickly accepted his terms. So not only will we now get free access to equipment and a place to editing the footage, with that expense out of the way… we can start filming sooner than later. How soon? According to Chris as long as I can find time that doesn’t conflict with Leah’s schedule, we can plan to shoot as soon as two weeks from now.

Another update is with the script. I sent it out to half a dozen close friends to get their honest opinion about it. Almost all of the feedback that has come back has been positive. The only non-positive feedback I got was still good. The person said he didn’t like the punchline but could see how others would find it very funny. He still offered to show his support and watch it when finished… how’s that for a bud, eh? I even emailed the script to a few friends here on OD. I’m happy with the feedback I’ve been given and have made only minor revisions based on what I’ve heard back. So with the scripe pretty much finished, it looks like we’re ready to go.

So what’s next? Well, we have to finish filling out our cast and do a few rehersals and what not. Then once in ideal location is found, we can shoot the film. I’m saying it will take two days to get the shots we need. So my plan is go book the shoot during Leah’s next weekend off. We’ll book a location and shoot for around 6-10 hours each day and that should be more than enough to get the stuff we need. While things seem to be moving ahead fast, I think Chris is right when he said that we should take advantage of this while we can. I agree with him, cause chances like to this film the short cheap and quickly won’t come around often.

Leah is a little surprised that we’re closer to getting this off the ground than she thought we would ever get. I’m confident that it will be an interesting project and based on the reviews the script got, I think this will be well received when eventually finished. The plan is to have the film finished by the end of the year and start showcasing it to as many festivals as possible. So that’s where the project is right now… everyone is excited and eager to get shooting. I’d be a liar if I told you I wasn’t excited either… and I’ll eagerly post more updates here as we move closer to getting a finished product.

Peter

Log in to write a note
September 18, 2006

oh yeah I would definitely like to see the finished product!

September 19, 2006

Sounds like it’s all systems go, good stuff

September 19, 2006

Arr! Me be watchin’ films in class. Mostly classics. Arrr!