Another nice spread…

Leah is a great cook, but I’m doing my best to at least keep up. Usually when I go out to do the groceries, I try to find something interesting to do to surprise Leah and Chris and make something new/unique for them to eat. I don’t mind our normal menu, but there’s nothing wrong with trying something different, and last night I did just that.

I managed to get some very nice steaks of Veal, but since my grill was broken I was going to have to pan fry them. To add a lot of flavor to the dish, what I did was dice a full onion and green pepper and steam them in a separate pot for a good time until they were as loose as noodles. After that I added a very rich sauce to the peppers and onions, and used that to top the steaks to add a very deep flavor to them. When I was shopping, I spent an extra buck or so and picked up one of those better sauces… and I picked a cool one: a vokda/roman tomato flavored sauce. Combined with the pepper and onion that I diced and steamed, they made an amazing topping for the Veal steaks.

I also finished up the meal by adding honey garlic noodles, baby carrots and a creme soup on the side. The soup was carrot and coriander, which was interesting given that I had never tried it before. Overall the meal turned out really, really well. And I have the pictures to prove it!


(Here are the Veal steaks and the pot with the Peppers & Onions.)


(Closer pick of one of the Veal Steaks…)


(This was the peppers & onions after they had cooked and I added the sauce…)


(Yes, I cheated a bit with the noodles and the soup, but who do you think I am, Mario Batali?)


(And the finished product, I think it turned out all right…)

Overall the meal was well received. The only part that wasn’t eaten was the soup. I liked it but Chris and Leah didn’t really like it that much. But everything else was consumed in record time, so 3 out of 4 items is a good record to work with. That was my Sunday surprise for Chris and Leah and I think it went over with the both of them. My way of letting them know their work and time to help the house is apprecaited.

I really enjoy stuff like this. The meal I made here wasn’t too ambitious, but I needed to tone it down a bit cause when I made Butter Chicken it wasn’t eaten at all. This time most of it was eaten… so I’ll go from here and only get a little more bold with each meal instead of jumping leaps and bounds, which is what I did last year with unsuccessful results.

But cooking that meal and cleaning up after it and watching the Presidental Forum I tivoed from Saturday night is how I spent the majority of my Sunday. Hopefully everyone else had a good weekend, and have an even better Monday. Take care and I’ll be around…

Peter

Log in to write a note
August 18, 2008

How did you cook the veal? Well done?

August 18, 2008

I make a braised veal and peppers dish that is similar to what you describe. Usually, I serve it with rice. My husband is very fond of it though we have it seldom. Veal is so expensive here.

-random noter- Looks good! I have those same dishes. Well, I had them. They were part of my things from college… I’m not quite sure where they have ran off to though…. hahaha.

August 18, 2008

I love those side kicks, especially when I’m making something “fancy” as the main dish.

August 18, 2008

yum yum!

August 18, 2008

Sounds yummy.

August 18, 2008

i’m almost surprised someone didn’t complain about you using veal. Won’t hear a complaint from me. I’ve eaten whale.