Been a while, eh?

I know it’s been a while since I wrote, but lately I’ve been lagging around and haven’t really been motivated to write much. There is so much I could talk about, so right now I’ll do my best to catch up and chit chat about a few things going on in my life:

My boys are amazing. One couldn’t expect more from them in terms of their behavior in general. While Ethan is getting a little more off the wall, he’s two years old… this had to be expected no matter what. Jonathan is sleeping really,really well to the point where the night shift isn’t as daunting a task as one first thought it might be. And when Jonathan actually does fall asleep, a good deep sleep will last four to six hours at a time. You cannot believe how lucky we are to have a kid that managed to sleep like that this early, and Leah seems to be adjusting well to having two kids around the house. Ethan has been super nice to the baby and that’s all we can ask for, and while he’s been a little hellraiser at times, Ethan has had a few moments that are giving us hope that the terrible twos won’t be too hard on us afterall. There was one moment this morning when Ethan first got up that just made me feel really good. I was getting the little guy his morning juice, and since he was being really quiet for me… I rewarded him with a bear paw which is Ethan’s favorite cookie. When I handed it to him, he looked up to me and said, “thank you.” He then ran back into the living room to watch TV before I could react. I was simply floored, since I was unaware that Leah and Mom had been working on this with Ethan for about a week now. It was just one of those moments that left me feeling rather stunned. My little guy is growing up to be quite a gentlman. Can’t wait to see what he does next.

Jonathan is growing like a weed as well… to the point where he’s only a month old and is filling out his 3 month clothes quite well for his age. Leah is guess that the little guy must be at least twelve if not thirteen pounds by now. I don’t think he’s gained that much weight, but he’s certainly picked up a pound or two. I’m saying about two pounds which will put him around ten or eleven. Still, the little guy loves to sleep and eat when he’s not sleeping. Jonathan also happens to be a real cuddler, as he prefers to be held in someones arms than laying down in the crib. The quickest way to settle the little guy down will be to take him in your arms and walk him around a little. Bit of music doesn’t hurt either, but something really soft like Enya and Yanni does the trick with this little dude. Jonathan also has quite the appetite as he’s guzzling down five ounces of formula per feeding. He’s been burping really well too, which is good cause we don’t want the little guy to have any gas problems while he tries to sleep. So with Jonathan sleeping really well, sometimes almost through the night, things are looking good over here on the baby from.

As for Leah, she’s doing well and seems to be taking things in stride. I know for a fact that she’s 100% grateful Grandma has been here to help her out for the first month of so. Her help has made the adjustment that much easier to make, and for that I will forever be grateful to my Mom. She’s been a rock for us while trying to make what is an enormous adjustment. She’s also put up with a lot of crap form us too, so for that I don’t think I can express how thankful I am. We’ve had our tense moments, but I understand most of what she did and said was with good intentions. It will be a bit of a struggle when she heads back to Tennessee in February, but I think leah and I will be okay. She’s tough, and I know she’ll be up to the task. Our boys are worth it, and I think she knows that. I’m going to do what I can to help out as much as I can as well… and hopefully that will be enough. And a month and a bit later, we’ll all be flying out to Toronto for a wedding so we have something to look forward to after Ma flies back home.

As for me, things have been okay. Since I’ve got back to internet troubleshooting, I’ve actually had a lot of time to do a little reading. You see with HSI (High Speed Internet), the troubleshooting is pretty much second had for someone who’s been working at this job for almost two years. So for most of the calls, I can actually recall from memory all the steps clients have to take to restore their internet, and rarely if ever have to really be at the computer to help them unless they need to have a tech booked to come out which isn’t too often. So because of this, I’ve been lying back and eating a lot of good books lately and even I’ve been surprised by how fast I’ve been burning through these. I’ve been keeping myself busy by hitting ebay and buying a crapload of good hardcovers online, A few months ago, I bought as many as eleven hardcover books online and had them sent to my Dad in Tennessee to save on shipping costs. When Dad came up tot he island to celebrate Xmas, he brought the books with him and I’ve been happily reading them every since.

One of the better deals I made on Ebay was for a handful of John Grisham hardcovers. I only spent $10 US and got 8 first edition hardcovers of Grisham books I’ve never read. I like this guys work and while he’s not the end all be all of writing, his books are very entertaining and a good way to kill time. I first read The Sommons which was quite good, followed by The Testament which was equally amusing. But a few hours ago, I recently finished reading The Runaway Jury which I had a hard time putting down. It was one of the better if not best books from Grisham I have read yet. It was quite impressed and am glad that I read this before checking out the movie which would have spoiled a lot for me. I’ve got a few really good Grisham books left over and I’m looking forward to reading them as well. One of them is the newer book titled ‘King Of Torts’ which looks promising, which I might give a try if there is nothing better to read.

Speaking of better books, in between reading Grisham books… I managed to read ‘Memiors Of A Geisha’ over the last week and a half. It was an amazing piece of literature, and I really enjoyed reading this book. Yet as I was reading this book, one thought that went through my head is what a boring movie this would likely make. It was a detailed book, and the stories were amazing… but I couldn’t see this movie making a good transition to the big screen that well. I’ll have to check out the movie to see what the screenwriter did to the book to make this a more appealing movie. Hopefully they didn’t butcher this book too much cause I really thought it was amazing.

Another book that I also managed to read this week that completely knocked my socks off was Dan Brown’s The Di Vinci Code. This popular book has managed to amaze and at the same time anger a lot of people. I can see why this book has been banned by the Vatican, and for good reason. All the theories about the Priory of Soin or the real meaning of the Holy Grail… I’ve read all about these in other books before, but Dan Brown takes these unpopular theories about religion and brings them to the mainstream through his fantastic writing. While the story and its characters are ficticious, the Priory of Soin, the Grail, Opus Dei and the opinions expressed about Di Vinci’s works and what they really mean are documented in many books, all this book does is present them to a larger more mainstream group. It’s was an amazing story, and filled with all this rich stuff that I am sure many new readers will find education and hopefully modivate them to dig deeper with other books to see what all this hoopla is about. It was an amazing book and I’m dying to take my wife to see the movie when it comes out in the Spring. That’s when this story and its little theories will really go mainstream, which I’m sure will tickle the Vatican just the right way. Got to love it when that happens. Dan Brown has a new fan, and I’ve already order ‘Angels & Demons’ off ebay and am dying to read it. Should be good…

So that’s what I’ve been doing lately… reading all these books instead of postined entries. I’ll try to post a few more times in the near future and give the literature a rest every now and then. Until then, hope everyone else is having a good week and I’ll be around… when I finish this chapter that is.

Peter

Log in to write a note
January 17, 2006

I’m a big fan of Grisham as well. His stories always have interesting twists. On the other hand, Dan Brown is an exploited hack. Da Vinci Code was certainly good, but I thought Angels and Demons was better, although it was ridiculously far-fetched in too many places. But his other two books should never have been published; they’re a complete waste of money, and obviously only made it into

January 17, 2006

print because of his sudden name recognition after DVC. His description of the NSA in Digital Fortress is laughable; a cursory drive past NSA (I used to live very near there, and went past it often) reveals that he got absolutely nothing right about even the physical description. Save your money and don’t buy the other two books!

January 17, 2006

Peter, Been a while, eh It’s good to see ya again. Anne~

January 17, 2006

glad to hear things are well, and the boys happy, I just read the DiVinci Code too, interesting book, I thought it was well written, but I can also understand why it caused it so much controversy in religious circles, but as a work of fiction, I enjoyed it, I’d like to read Memoirs of Geisha, been meaning to for awhile, but yo know how time flies,

January 17, 2006

I might have to borrow Memoirs from you, if you don’t mind; I’ve been dying to read it since catching the movie. Angels and Demons is much more entertaining that The Da Vinci Code – less talking and more action. When you’re on eBay again, keep an eye out for Norma Johnston’s The Keeping Days and the other books in that series? It’s been out of print for a long while.