I’m Still Standing…

While this is a popular Elton John tune, it also happens to express how I’m feeling right about now. While I’m doing my best to keep working and writing, I’m just trying to stay above water and not let life get the best of me. It’s been about two months since I posted anything here, but rather than apologize for the thousandth time, I will keep updating OD on how things have been going. March 2023 was in a nutshell a fun month for yours truly. I saw some pretty awesome movies that month, as John Wick 4, Creed 3 and the new Dungeons & Dragons movie were all off the hook awesome. I offered to take Ethan to go see Ant Man 3, but he didn’t want to see it. Instead, Ethan expressed a desire to see Cocaine Bear instead. So I took him to see that movie, and it was a lot of fun, and the little guy loved it too.

As I usually do every year, I took Jonathan for the entire spring break, and during that week I took Jon and Katherine out to see Disney on Ice, and fun was had by all involved. This year’s theme for Disney On Ice was Frozen and Encanto, and while my brother Chris and I found it painful to get through, we could see that both Jon and Kat enjoyed it, and that’s all that mattered.

 

Ethan didn’t attend that show as he’s kind of grown out of it, so I’m making plans to take him to a different show that is more appropriate for his age. I’m looking at a few big concerts that are coming to Toronto this year about Ethan’s birthday, and there are a few bands I think he’d really dig. One show in particular I’m considering is Rob Zombie and Alice Cooper, which I think would be a killer show. I’ve seen both of them, and have a feeling Ethan might get a kick out of seeing both of them perform in person. Another I’m thinking about attending is ZZ Top and Lynyrd Skynyrd, which could be a badass backup in case the other sells out or is cancelled.

I’m also looking into taking in a great show for my own birthday in October. There are two great shows coming to Toronto around the big day that I’m considered. Nick Cave is doing a solo tour without the Bad Seeds, and has a show booked for Massey Hall in mid-October. I saw Nick Cave in 2018 on my birthday, so I wouldn’t mind doing that again, but there’s also Depeche Mode coming to ACC in early November. Both shows are ideal, and if I can generate enough income from the writing over the summer, I might check out both rather than forcing myself to choose.

On the other family front, Katherine and new babe are doing rather well. Emma just turned 9 months old, and while she’s technically 7 months developed since she was hatched almost 2 months premature, she’s still growing well and appears to be out of the woods concerning most of her preemie issues that we were worried about when she was first born. She’s got some hip issues that we’ll have to work on, but either than that she’s a pretty chipper baby and is getting along with her older sister a lot more than we first thought she would.

. . . . . .

We assumed Katherine would be the jealous type, but she hasn’t been like that and has been getting along with her new sibling very well. Her mother and I are very proud of how supporting she has been of the new baby. Kat has also been registered for school to start in September, as she’ll be starting JK in the fall. Time is again flying by, a Kat will be turning 4 in June and then attending her first year of school. She’s also signed up for soccer this summer, which is something I have a feeling she’s going to be good at. She’s been kicking the ball around my place all the time and I’ve been working on it with her already so she’ll be in a good place when it all gets started. I’m looking forward to seeing this as Ethan and Jon were never athletic when they were growing up so this is new territory for me as well.

As for me, I’m still working on the comic books… but I’m also working on other novels and scripts that all have the potential to be great if I catch the right break. I’ll keep everyone updated if there are any developments on those fronts, but until then… everyone enjoy the spring and I’ll be around.

Cheers,

Peter

 

 

Log in to write a note
April 14, 2023

Kat cannot be almost 4 already!!!

You are making such great memories with your kids.