An Evening With Crowded House

If you’ve read my diary before, you’re aware that I love going to concerts and hearing some awesome music in person. I’ve been to over 200 shows in my lifetime and I want to keep attending concerts until my dying days. Because of the pandemic, I have not seen a concert since September of 2019… and almost three years later that drought has come to an end.

Last night in Toronto, I finally got to check out a live show again… seeing a band I’ve love since my teens: Crowded House.

I’ve been a huge fan of this amazing band from down under (well half Aussie, and half Kiwi if I’m being honest), since the 80’s when they hit the charts with kickass songs like “Something So Strong”, “Better Be Home Soon”, and their biggest hit of that decade which was “Don’t Dream It’s Over”.

I’ve been listening to their stuff for decades, so of course I was dying to see them live. This concert was supposed to take place last October, but was canceled for obvious reasons but pushed back to last night and I was finally able to check out this amazing. Neil and the boys didn’t fail to disappoint.

I even had a date for this event, and while she knew a few songs… I could tell she gained a greater appreciation for this old band and likes them a lot more than she did last week before I invited her to see this show.

Here is the set list for what was performed last night in Toronto by Crowded House:

1. When You Come

2. World Where You Live

3. Can’t Keep Up With You 

4. To the Island

5. Fall At Your Feet

6. Pineapple Head

7. Show Me The Way

8. Message to My Girl (Split Enz Cover)

9. All I Can Ever Own

10. Private Universe

11. Four Seasons In One Day

12. Love This Life

13. Sister Madly

14. Too Good For This World

15. Whatever You Want

16. Distant Sun

17. Don’t Dream It’s Over

18. I Got You (Split Enz Cover)

19. Something So Strong

ENCORE:

20. Weather With You

21. Locked Out

22. Into Temptation

23. Better Be Home Soon.

 

So that was the end of my concert dry spell in Toronto last night. I hadn’t seen a live show in almost four years, and last night was the first of four concerts I have booked for this summer. The next show is going to be next week as I’m going back to Toronto to check out Country singer Dierks Bentley. I haven’t seen Dierks since 2004 when I saw him open for Keith Urban in Nashville when Leah and I were visiting my parents just after Ethan was born… so it’s been a while. I’m looking forward to seeing Dierks again, and enjoying another find show.

I’m hoping everyone else is also having a good weekend, and I’ll back soon… cheers!

Peter

 

Log in to write a note
May 28, 2023

great

May 31, 2023

Very awesome!