Labor day classic…

Leah and I went to Ivor Wynne Stadium yesterday afternoon for the CFL labor day classic, an annual game between the Hamilton Ticats and the Toronto Argonauts. It was a sell out crowd at the stadium, over 30,000 in attendence… and for a while it was a good game. At one point, our cats led 8-0, but Toronto took over and the final score was 32 – 14 in favor of the Argos. Was fun though, and I think Leah got right into it. It was a good first game, and I think after having that much fun we might go back again… maybe next season.

We were about 30 rows from the field, and while not too close… you’ll tell from the photos below it was a good spot. Leah and I had a good view of the whole field and that’s more important then being close. So we had a great day, and I hope you did as well. I’ll be back later, but for now here are a few pictures of our day yesteraday.

Peter


(Leah before the game, wearing the hometown colors.)


(Our view of the field, we had some bitchin’ seats!)


(Not only a big crowd, but a great day for football…)


(We had a great view of the game, as ugly as it was…)

Log in to write a note
September 4, 2007

We get a few CFL games on the tube and if I know in advance I make sure to watch a little bit. I don’t follow any of the teams but I tend to cheer for Edmonton and Montreal and I freely admit I have no basis for cheering for either one. Not bad seats. I’ve always preferred to sit in the endzone and watch the plays develop but perhaps that’s because we’ve been sitting in the same endzone seats at MSU for nearly 25 years. One gets accustomed to watching games from the same perspective year after year.

Looks like a great time! 🙂

September 4, 2007

Of all the sports, I think football is the one I’d be the most interested in watching. Well, except for the performance sports (figure skating, diving, gymnastics, etc.)

September 4, 2007

Dude they messed up the field chalk markers; midfield is supposed to be the 50 yard line! I hope someone got fired for that. 😉