Political Potluck Entry…

It took a few days, but I finally got to sit down and watch the national leader’s debate for the upcoming Canadian Federal election. I’ve been dying to get through this one for a while, but it’s hard to do when both boys are not napping any more and when they are sleeping, everyone else wants to watch backlogged episodes of Criminal Minds and Survivor. As expected, having five leaders sitting at the same table made for quite a lively discussion, and Prime Minister Harper took quite a beating from the other four party leaders. This isn’t new for Canadian debates, but with a lot of seats at stake it didn’t take a rocket scientist to figure out that the other leaders were going to make a human PiƱata… I guess the only negative thing one can think of about having all party leaders take part, they can really gang up if they really want to. But I degress, I did enjoy hearing from all leaders, but it really didn’t change my vote. The leader of the party I plan to vote for did exceptionally well during that debate, that being Jack Layton of the New Democratic Party. He came across as the real opposition for the Conservatives, and I think the Liberals have some real competition for second place… and I really hope that competition results in enough seats for a coalition goverment. Fingers crossed!

Speaking about debates, Nashville Tennessee is hosting the second Presidental debate tonight. This is going to be a very interesting exchange, because both campaigns have dropped the gloves and started to go at it like Bob Probert and Wendel Clark at Joe Louis Area. The ads have gone from mildy ugly to outright character assassination in less than a weekend, and it’s going to stay that way until election day. McCain has resorted to the mother of all ‘kitchen sink’ tactics… and we all know that didn’t work for Hillary. Meanwhile, Obama has finally dropped that ace out of his sleeve and brought the Keating Five to the table. I watched the 13 minute documentary about it that’s posted on the Obama funded site, and I can say this much: that video wasn’t whipped together overnight… they’ve been saving that for a while, waiting for the right time to drop that bomb. One can guess that might have been Obama’s ‘desperation’ move if he ever sunk as low in the polls as McCain has right now… but now he’s using it to finish off McCain before he has a chance to claw back into it. Good move, because the biggest mistake Gore and Kerry made was not hitting back… and no one votes for a pushover. This was a high bit back, a real haymaker. McCain’s people have no response to it, and it still sticks to the topic of the Economy, the last thing his Campaign wants to talk about.

Now Gov. Palin wants to bring Rev. Wright back into the spotlight. Not a very bright move since there’s video tape from Palin’s church of her being blessed by a ‘witch hunter’. I think a link about Hockey Mom’s in Glass rinks not casting stones should apply here. Then there is the story about her extra-martial affair that slowly being reported. I know the original source isn’t the most credible, but it was the same source that exposed and was right about John Edwards.

Getting back to the great white north for a moment, I was going to volunteer for an event to help out with the upcoming election to help my party, but the timing couldn’t be worse. I’m going to be on set all weekend but I’ll still have time to cast my vote. I’m going to take the kids with me and it will be a lot of fun. I took Jon with me last time and it worked since the person I vote for won… so I’ll take my good luck charm with me again this time too. Let’s see if he’ll go 2 for 2.

That’s one reason why snap elections can be a real pain in the arse. I haven’t seen or heard from a single person running for the riding here, and I understand why. There just isn’t enough time for the person to knock on every door down here, and that’s understandable. I might drop by the office later this week to show my support for my party and pick up a sign for the house if I can find the time. It will only be used for a week, but that’s better than nothing. I know Leah won’t be too pleased but she’s not attached to a particular party so she really can’t complain cause I am. I’ll grab my NDP sign and plant it on the front yard soon. If she wants to get one too, she’s free to and I’ll make room. But I think she’s undecided so I’m not sure she’ll know until the last minute.

So that’s how things are up here and I know things are getting insane for some of you down there. It’s been a long and at time very frustrating campaign season. You’re in the home stretch… and it will all be over very, very soon. 28 days until Nov 4th, and then it will be all over but the crying. I’m sure we’ll hear plenty of it here on OD but until then… take care.

Peter

Log in to write a note
October 7, 2008
October 7, 2008

Thanks for your note. šŸ™‚

October 8, 2008

I’m guessing that giving no time for candidates to talk to the people means chances are greater that people will vote along party lines rather than allowing a candidate from another party to impress them. Considering that it’s hard to bring oneself to vote Liberal these days, that leave a lot of room for Conservatives. They’re expected to get in with a majority government, thanks to Ontario.