Romney currently resides in the state of denial

Romney recently had an interview with the Washington Post, and during this conversation he once again tried to shovel a heaping pile of bullshit. During that interview he said that the 47% comment was taken out of context and that he was misquoted. This is what he said to the post:

“Actually, I didn’t say that … that’s how it began to be perceived, and so I had to ultimately respond to the perception, because perception is reality.”

Nice try Mittens but that story just doesn’t fly in the real world. Especially when you were caught on VIDEO saying the following:

“There are 47% of the people who will vote for the president no matter what … who are dependent upon government, who believe that they are victims … These are people who pay no income tax. … and so my job is not to worry about those people. I’ll never convince them that they should take personal responsibility and care for their lives.”

Yes, Romney actually said it and no matter how much he tries to juggle it, his video taped comment still means exactly what we thought it meant when we first heard it. This was said during a private, fifty thousand dollar per plate campaign fundraiser. There wasn’t supposed to be any cameras running so the truth is Mitt was caught on tape giving his honest opinion of almost half the country. The video gave voters a true picture of what kind of man Romney was and that was more than enough to convince voters that he wasn’t the right man for the job.

What I actually find very amusing is that Romney honestly believes this is the only comment that kept him out of the White House. Hardly, I’m also pretty sure the whole ‘binders full of women’ debacle would have been the worst comment of the entire campaign if Romney hadn’t been taped dissing half the nation.

Those are not the only two memorable ‘Romney-isms’ that swayed voters to jump ship during the 2012 campaign. While he’ll be known as Mr. 47% for the rest of his political career, Romney was still quoted saying these comments which I am sure had many independent voters going blue that year:

“We’re not going to let our campaign be dictated by fact-checkers.”

“Planned Parenthood? We’ll get rid of that.”

“I’d like to see Roe v. Wade overturned.”

“I will repeal Obamacare.”

“I’m going to get rid of the Dept. of Education.”

“I’m going to increase the MIC budget”

“Seamus loves riding on top of the car.”

“Let Detroit Go Bankrupt.”

“Corporations are people too, my friend.”

“I like to fire people”

“I bet you $10,000”

“The blind trust is an age old ruse. You can always tell a blind trust what it can and cannot do.”

I’m not concerned about the very poor; we have a safety net there.

“Big banks are not bad”

“I’d let the housing market bottom out.”

“If I tell you what I’d do, I’ll lose.”

Starting to see the picture here?

I’m pretty sure many of these comments, combined with the 47% comment that turned a lot of voters to re-elect Obama for a second term. If you want to win more than just the right side of the voting base, telling the people that they’re a bunch of moochers and that you’ll support the banks that were ruining the economy wasn’t the right way to win them over.

Fortunately, the American people did not send this fool to the White House. Thanks to 54% of the people who voted (which was made up of Democrats, independents and moderate Republicans) this pathological liar didn’t win last year’s election. Can you imagine how worse off the US (and the world) would be if that corporate pawn was in charge?

I really hope the GOP learned a lesson from 2012. There is no such thing as a ‘private’ campaign fundraiser anymore. Anyone who has a cell phone can record anything and have it on CNN or you tube within twenty four hours. If you want to win an election, you either stay on message 24/7 or your ‘truths’ will be made public again in 2016. We’ll have to wait another three years to see if they actually learned something or if history will repeat itself again.

Peter

Log in to write a note
July 30, 2013

*headdesk headdesk headdesk headdesk*