This week’s OD theme…

This week’s theme on OD is an interesting question, and since I’m still awake… I thought I’d give it a stab. This week’s topic:

“Have you made, or do you plan to make, written plans for your death? If yes, what do they include?”

While I am trying to take care of myself as much as I possibly can, my health isn’t that spectacular… so yes, I am making plans.

I’m not that concerned with funeral details (yet) but I’m more worried about my writings and future royalties well aware that a lot of artists make more when they’re six feet deep. I’m in the process of leaving everything to Ethan and Jonathan, while leaving my older brother in charge as executor of my estate. He loves my boys and I would trust no one more to do the right thing for them than Chris.

I’m also in the process of writing a book, one that would only be released posthumous. It’s a collection of letters for everyone that means something to me in my life and even letters for those who I might not live long enough to meet, such as future generations of my branch of the family tree. It’s something I’ve been taking serious and I hope to finish sooner rather than later.

I’m also composing a diary entry, one that will be left aside with the password to this account to be posted here as my final entry after I pass on. I’ve watched too many people pass on without saying goodbye, so I am making plans to have one last entry posted posthumous to say goodbye to everyone in my own way…

So yes, I’m making plans for that fateful day… but I’m hoping I won’t have to use them for a while yet (knock on wood). Grim, I know… but I’d rather not be one of those people who is taken by surprise.

Peter

Log in to write a note