Time for an audition…

One thing I’m sure a lot of people are not aware of: I’ve done a petite bit of acting here and there. When I say petite, I mean an odd stage play here and there. I really like acting, and on stage I did rather well when doing my thing. One year when I was attending University, I took part in an ensamble play that was three hours long. It was exhausting, and required a lot of costume changes because our characters changed through the years cause it was based on a place’s history. But it was a lot of fun and we performed it for a week, which was enough for me. I tried to audtion for other stage plays but that was the last acting gig I did and that was before this diary started. That’s a while.

When I was in highschool, I scored high nineties and nearly a full 100% one year when I was taking drama classes. Our school drama teacher tried very hard to convince me to persue acting in college. He really thought I had the imagination and skill to do something. Being the rebelious kid that I was, I didn’t listen and did my own thing and took off for University. Acting wasn’t the only thing I did for Drama in highschool. In my last year, I co-wrote a play called ‘Da-Da’ that won first place at a district drama festival, out of fourteen schools that were participating. We placed 3rd at the province’s regional festival that year too. So technically I’m a playwright too, something else you didn’t know.

Anyhoo… I’ve still been very active in my job search, but for kicks (and curiousity) I put together a new set of headshots and started to apply for a few acting gigs. There is a good (free) website that allowed wannabe actors to look for jobs that fit their profiles. I’m well aware that a lot of projects happen in Toronto, so I wanted to take advantage of that and see if there was anything I could fit into. So last week I sent out some nice cover letters with the headshots and hoped for the best. And guess what?

I have an audition on March 1st. Since it’s a Saturday, no one will have to miss work to watch the kids for me when I take off for Toronto to test my acting ability for the first time in a long, long time.

The details: I got an email from a director who is going to film a short film over a four day period (March 21 – 24). It’s a short film, but the cool part is I’m being asked to audition for a lead role. It’s a horror/suspense film, and the role I’m being considered for is the evil dude. It sounds very cool to me, I like playing the bad guy. I’m a fan of horror films, and I can have a very intimidating glare, so I’m going to go ahead and audtion for the role. It’s a very small project, but it’s still something I can put on my resume… and that will help when trying to apply for bigger projects and roles.

Acting is something I’ve always enjoyed doing, so it’s something I might get back into if it’s the only thing that calls back. If I have a good audtion (and that’s a big IF), this could be the start of something big… especially because it’s for a lead roles. Still, there is always the chance that I could bomb my auditon and go down in flames, making this the start of nothing. It won’t be anything if I stay home and don’t bother to try. So next week, I’m going take a bus to Toronto, give my audtion and give a shot. I’ve got eight days to look up some audtion material and practice. Wish me luck!

Peter

Log in to write a note
February 21, 2008

Luck! That’s wonderful! 🙂

February 21, 2008

Good luck! Sounds exciting

February 21, 2008

break a leg!

Break a leg!

February 23, 2008

Wow, that’s awesome! I can’t wait to hear how it goes! 🙂

March 12, 2008

🙂 Have you heard back about this film yet?