To Artshow, Or Not

I have the possibility of entering a local art show, coming up in May. I can’t decide if I’m ready or not for a two day, mostly sales event. I have a good body of work in watercolors, famed and ready to go. I also have my two children’s books that I wrote and illustrated. If necessary I could sell those exclusively. However, there are a few reasons that I’m fussing about this.

I don’t get big dollars for my little watercolors but the local art society wants $100. to participate in this event and 10% of sales. That feels like a lot for a little nothing artist like myself. Some of the others that show are great portrait and landscape artists doing gorgeous realistic and abstract paintings. My art borders on abstract and cartoon. Wish I could post some art here but I don’t know how. my blog has a bunch of art in it: http://www.pennyrossburk.comĀ 

So the big question that I have to answer is, do I or don’t I participate. I suppose its good for exposure but I always make so little profit for the mount they ask. Plus, I am required to take on a job. They call it volunteering but if it’s mandatory is it voluntary? I don’t have office skills, marketing or computer skills. What’s left is manual labor which having recently blew my back out (all better now) is not exactly what I want to volunteering for.

Log in to write a note
March 14, 2018

Well, it gets your name out there.Ā  I would probably do it even if it’s breakeven.Ā  About being “voluntold” perhaps you could discuss your back issues and help within your limits?

March 14, 2018

@margaret_1 Yes, I probably will do it…and maybe distribute flyers or something benign. I feel like this will be one of those cases where I go in kicking and screaming and come out feeling fulfilled and inspired. In the meantime I’m grumpy and grouchy about it. I’ll get over it. Thanks for your note!

March 14, 2018

Your watercolors are beautiful!

March 14, 2018

@nursiemom Thank you!!

March 16, 2018

To art show, definitely! I love your stuff & if I could Iā€™d see you at a show! šŸ™‚

March 16, 2018

Hi, Pola! I just rediscovered OD. Good to see you are active too. You were always one of my favs.

I say go for it. Mat make valuable new contacts. Canā€™t hurt. Iā€™m sure they will find a job you can do.

Glad to be back.

kate

April 1, 2018

I love your work. Ā Have you decided whether or not to do the art show?

April 1, 2018

@catholicchristian I decided not to do the show. It costs too much and I’m not really set up to sell the way the others artists are with cards and bookmarks. Some have their artworkĀ  printed on mugs and lampshades and stuff.Ā  I am just not prepared for that (not sure I want to be either). I’ll do the big Christmas sale but I’m going to pass on this one. Thanks for asking!