Keeping On Track and Not Stressing Out

One step at a time and not over doing it.  I have a tendency to feel like it has to be all or nothing and end up hurt or burnt out.  Which is why I am setting up goals for each day instead of trying to do it ALL at once.  I am feeling good about meeting my daily goals yesterday and hope to tackle today’s goals.

I was so happy that my text books arrived before noon and I started my studies early on.  I wanted to get all of last week’s reading and assignments in.  I got a lot of reading done before I had to go to the dental office.

Yup after an hour in the dental chair where they had to laser done my gums that started to grow up around the posts to high, the last of the dental implants were put in.  I now have a full set of healthy cavity free teeth.  I need to take care of my gums and most of my bottom teeth since they are the only ones real in my mouth anymore.  It feels so good to be able to close my mouth and my jaw is set right and not stressed from months of missing back teeth.

After the appointment I went home and worked more on my assignments.  I was done early in the evening!!!  I feel good.  My teacher gave myself and others an extension to have them in by Friday but we have all of this weeks stuff due then too.  I didn’t want to procrastinate and try and finish 2 weeks worth of work at the end of the week.  I am proud of myself that I got it all done.

Today I am cleaning out my oven and mopping floors and cleaning the kitchen.  I need to empty out the fridge.  With a lil dude and Nate rummaging through there I never can find things where I put them.  

I know I would have plenty of time to do more today, but I also know I would be pushing myself really hard and burn out and stress myself out with pressure to do so much more.  I also have current assignments from both my courses and reading I need to start on.  So I will find time for that.

And most importantly I MUST find time for my family each and every day. 

Oh yesterday I did make that taco casserole and it came out perfect!  YAY for yummy leftovers for lunch today!  

I still need to load bridal shower pictures and videos up.  I may work on that tomorrow.

To be honest, it hasn’t been easy doing things this way.  A part of me feels like perhaps I am not doing enough.  I get crazy compulsive and I need to learn to not push so hard.  I feel good that I got done what I needed to, but I keep thinking of all the other things I need and want to do.  No matter how unrealistic it is that I could get it all done in one day, a part of me still wants to push and try.  That is the whole it must be all or nothing attitude I fight with.  I am trying to convince myself that I am NOT "Half assing" it.  I am being diligent and taking the time to do things well.  All without pushing myself too hard or risk hurting myself. I get so wrapped up in the stress of rushing to get things done and forget to eat or rest or anything.  This is not good behavior and an unhealthy habit.  I need to break this cycle and that is what I am trying to do.

Log in to write a note
March 4, 2010