(Entry 11) The girl who loved guitar!

One thing about music. When it hits you, you feel no pain. – Bob Marley

i am not only a writer. i am also a guitarist.

Do you remember any childhood dream that you wished to pursue badly? For me, it was playing a guitar. How? Why? Since when? i have no fucking idea! All i knew was that i. want. to. play. a guitar.

My wish fulfilled when i was 32. We had shifted to our new house (in India) and one day, when i was browsing the newspaper, a pamphlet slipped down. Universe can respond with a sheet of paper too.

A guitar class! Nearby!! WOW!!!

Next thing i knew, i was enrolled. i was the senior most student but hey! When it comes to dreams, age hardly matters. How much passion you have for it does.

For my benefit, it was a hobby class. Our teacher was fun and light-headed. He made guitar learning easy and actually possible. Or else, i always hear people saying that they left guitar learning/class/institute because of its complexity. i was blessed to have found a teacher who made me feel that i can have my dream come true.

Two years later, we came to Kuwait. Class gone. Regular practice gone. When it comes to an instrument as sophisticated and complex as guitar. self-practice can be lethal. You lose motivation. More times than you can imagine.

But somehow, i kept up. i was not good at all. i made mistakes. Several of’em! But i kept going.

Three years in Kuwait and now i do series on my guitar, i play full songs on chords (sometimes, on tabs too), mentor over chords and do some other kind of music videos.

At this moment, i remember that little girl who had a dream of playing guitar one day. Now she is 38 and she is playing one. How amazing these 7 years of guitar playing has been! Full of learning.

Is there any childhood dream you have conquered? Or, still working on? 🎸🎼

Log in to write a note
March 10, 2021

Finished my undergraduate at age 58 and got my Masters at 65.

March 12, 2021

@solovoice 65? You are the new name for inspiration. Take a bow!

March 10, 2021

I learned some guitar back in high school and I still remember how to play the chords I had learned all those years ago.

March 12, 2021
March 12, 2021

I’ve had so many dreams that have constantly changed! My current dream is to finally have my own home. Its definitely going to happen within the next three years!

March 12, 2021

@hannah_banana0012 Our dreams match. i too wish to have a home bought from self-earned money. All the best!

March 15, 2021