10/21/07

I know it’s been almost nine weeks since my last full entry. How do I know that? Because it was in the first day of school, and first quarter is over at the end up of this upcoming week.

Holy bloody hell – nine weeks. . . . I don’t think I have ever gone that long without writing here, ever – since I first started my diary in 2004. . . .Bad girl, no cookie. . .

But the thing is, for the first time in a long time, life has been good. I mean really honestly good. Bad things happen, and reality still sucks (just look at the previous entry) but I am honestly really happy.

School

I have started my third year of teaching up at PHS. This year I am senior class advisor, to a class of about 9 seniors. The week before school my co-advisor and I went over a lot of transcripts and moved kids into the correct classes – some were quite pissed off, but we have been warning them since we took over their class that this is what we would be doing.

My classes are really small this year as well”
9th English – 11 students
10th English – 14 students (including two Juniors retaking the class)
11th English – 17 students (plus two Seniors making up ¼ credit)
12th English – 11 students (including three Juniors who are trying to graduate early)
Reading – 9 students

And there are 3 students that I do not have in English this year because of some major mess ups with their schedules. That gives us a grand total of 62 kids this year. That really is not a lot of students at all….A lot of kids transferred schools this year because of the ass hat.

And speaking of the ass hat, he is being remarkably human this year. I have had no problems with him what-so-ever, no run ins at all. He is being amazing supportive of things I want to do in my classroom and suggestions I have for the school. I’ve purchased 4 new sets of novels to teach, and he’s excited about what I want to do with them.

There are three other new teachers, one in the middle school, a new high school math teacher, and a new special ed teacher. They are all close to my age – YAY! I am no longer the youngest person on staff!!! I get along with the new math teacher and the speical ed teacher (wife and husband respectively) and they are great people. We’ve sat down quite a bit and talked about new ideas for the school and we are all on the same page. It’s nice to have that support and comroderie.

Overall, school is going really well this year – and I hope it stays that way.

Family

My family is doing well. Most exciting things is that one of my cousins got married last month. I missed the wedding because it was in Chicago, but he’s happy and that is all that matters 🙂

My parents are doing well, and so are the puppies. I am going to go visit this afternoon I think. They puppies are getting HUGE~!!!

Family of Choice

I can talk about this because a certain creep is on my blocked list

I love being an Auntie!!! 🙂

Log in to write a note