Almost bad

Where I live there have been a lot of fires recently.

One of them was RIGHT behind my apartments. Rogue Valley on High Alert

I was driving home from school on Thursday, and when I was closer to home my boy called me. He gets home before I do and was sitting at the kitchen table when he saw firetrucks race past our window. He looked out our front window and saw the flames over the grade/storage units at the back of our places.

I was 10 minutes away from home when he called me, and by the time I passed the area the fire had been put out…We live right next door to a retirement assisted living facility – by the gods, this could have been BAD.

…There are a lot of kids in the apartment complex between us an the old highway (not part of where we live) and all summer that have been playing with fireworks all hours of the day. The local police have done nothing about it at all, “kids will be kids” right? Well, the person who called in the fire saw kids running away from the area….

On Monday there was a huge fire really close to where boy used to live. That fire burned down 11 houses in a neighborhood – one of them was a childhood friend of my boy. He is now a police officer, and he was directing traffic away from the area as he watched his home burn to the ground.

Right now I feel very lucky.

Log in to write a note
August 29, 2010

(((HUGS)))