Bye bye 2011

Great way to send 2011.

My dad is doing better, but he did have a series of mini heart attacks. Basically there is some vein in the heart that is blocked, but it is so damn small that even the tiniest instruments would be of no use and a by-pass surgery would do more harm than good. His doctor thinks it’s best to just let it basically block off and the heart will naturally bypass this one small part on its own.

Yeah – that makes me feel confidant.

Other than that everything else is just about normal other than his blood sugar – thus at this point my dad is now considered diabetic and they are keeping him until at least tomorrow to monitor him. I think that is pissing him off more than anything.

And I know my dad was feeling better when I saw him today at the hospital, he was being a jack ass to my mom. Sad to say this is how he normally acts towards her when she makes a request – like an over grown 2 year old he throws a tantrum. When my mom walked me out of the hospital she laughed and said that it was okay. I can’t decide how I feel that this is normal and my mom is okay with it – I also know she fights back. She just was not willing to yell back at him in the hospital…

I look at my parents and some times wonder how my brother and I came to be. But I also get to see the smaller moments, when my dad goes out every morning and gets mom her favorite coffee, or makes sure that the entire house is clean when she comes back from a trip; of course, he can’t do laundry, I don’t think he remembers how, But she goes home to a house that has had every room vacuumed and shampooed, as well as having her car just about professionally detailed.

It is the bizarre little things.

I’m better today, less panic, having seen my dad be normal. I have a hard enough time remembering he is 69 years old – my dad has never seemed old until the last part of this year. Between damn-near breaking his leg and being gimped up for three months and this my dad is looking older than he ever has. I don’t like it.

Tomorrow I’ll write other things, reflect and up-date and clean house. But right now, I’m just glad that my dad is okay.

Log in to write a note