Doggy Days

It is 6:30 in the morning and I haven’t slept. I’m up at my folk’s house 45 miles from where I live, dog sitting their neurotic dogs.

You know, every time I dog sit for these dogs something bad happens.

Yesterday I got here and every thing seemed to be going fine. Until I took them out. I was on my new phone looking something up, and they flushed a whole mess of bees at my face. The angry bees freaked me out and I ended up dropping my phone – and it freaking bounced on stone bricks. End result, I need a new screen protector and the plastic around the GLASS screen has a minor dent in it. Actually, that is pretty good for this kind of phone apparently.

Fast forward to the rest of the evening – I had tall dogs sticking their noses up on the table and into my dinner. Yummy, dog snot.

Last night, like always, they didn’t let me sleep. They were pawing at me and crying and barking. I went to bed at 11 and at 3 am I was ready to snap. They started freaking out and howling about then because of something in the backyard. Yeah, that makes me feel great since I am here by myself. However this is normal behavior – it my parent’s two pages of typed notes on dog care it says that around 2 – 3 am they need to go out again, and they get your attention this way….

Are you freaking kidding me?? This shit is NORMAL??

Well I tried to let them out – and they were so keyed up as I unlocked the backdoor Max tried to run out the door; too bad I hadn’t opened the sliding glass door yet. BONK. I got him back and was trying to open the door and then the screen door – and they just freaking took off – IN TO THE SCREEN DOOR. Surprisingly it held. But they managed to get it jammed and I had to fight to get it opened and back on it’s track.

Then the little fuckers just sat on the back patio and stared at me.

From 3 until 5 they sat at the bed or bedroom door and just whined at me and barked.

From 5 to 5:30 I might have got some sleep, but at 5:30 is when my father normally gets up – so they started running around and getting excited about then.

At 6am one of them, Max, gets medications for seizures – the reason why I hadn’t locked them out of the bedroom; so I could here just in case. Max gets his meds wrapped in lunch meat, and Mauser just gets lunch meat. After a long night of no sleep and a lot of frustration, I got the meds ready, and as I was doing it I made note of which dog was where. Well, they are freaking twins and were dancing around me as I got the meds ready.

Mauser got half of the meds and Max got plain lunch meat. At least I was doing it in parts and I found the medication bottles and Max got his meds. For the rest of the day Mauser is going to be a bit stoned I think, and at least he wont have any seizures today.

And NOW they are sitting there staring at their breakfast pouting because I am not doing it right I bet. I bet my father lied to my mother and he gives them extra treats on their breakfast, since they get it at 6am when she is still asleep. He is known for putting things like cheese or other little human food snacks on their food because they like it, and then he wonders why his dogs are getting fat.

Fucking hell. I really do love these dogs, but right now I want to smack my parents. Why the hell have the let this bad behavior go, and ENCOURAGE bad dog behavior? This is fucking bullshit, but what should I expect? When we got Magic I spent a lot of timed working with him and teaching him good dog behavior – hell, I am the one that trained him for hunting, and I don’t hunt. And my lovely father undid all of the training I did constantly. It’s like the dogs are babies – my father, the freaking State Trooper who put up with no bullshit from anyone is pushed around and flipping trained by his dogs.

Another day of this. My parents are gone until Sunday, but my brother is coming up on Friday to dog-sit for the rest of the weekend. Thank the gods – if I was doing this all weekend I was lose it.

And sometime today or tomorrow I am suppose to have a union meeting with a lawyer and be coherent. I can’t even see straight to walk through the house – how the hell am I suppose to drive anywhere? Oh and the fun part, the meeting is about 5 miles away from where I live, so 40 miles away from here.

At least the weather is nice this morning. And the dogs are still sitting there pouting after an hour.

Fuck. I am also going to have to tell my parents about the medication fuck up this morning at some point.

Log in to write a note
June 30, 2011

As long as there were no seizures in the interim, why bother their minds with the meds? Save yourself the hassle! I have never much understood why folks let their dogs behave crazy… or their kids…

Oh, dear…that’s no good at all. I hope that you can manage some rest somehow. How long do you have to watch them? ♥