NoJoMo 17 – Broken

Back dated because I could not type yesterday. But it happened yseterday…

I learned today just how much I actually do use my left hand since after 9:15 this morning I hadn’t been able to.

I was just standing in another teachers room waiting to ask her a question while she was helping a student, and another student bumped into me. Well, was more or less pushed – but the whole thing was an accident because the kids were not paying attention. They apologized to each other, but not to me – hey, that is progress if we can get them to be nice to each other.

There is a counter in her room, and my hand took the sharp corner – my hand got pinned in between me and the corner, which drove into my hand. I actually think it went in between tendons and/or the bones in my hand because I felt the pain in my palm first.

The pain was sudden and felt like freaking fire. I got an answer to my question from the teacher, went to start my class – got them started and went to the office for ice.

This happened sometime between 9:01 and 9:05 – our passing time (trust me, it is a freaking SMALL school). By 9:15 my hand was curled into a claw and I could not open my hand or close it completely.

I couldn’t hold papers or books, couldn’t type type -I couldn’t open a soda can or hold my freaking sandwich at lunch.

My hand is so swollen it looks like something is going to burst through the skin.

And by the way, once upon a time I trained myself to type with one hand – my left hand.

11-18: I still cannot fully use my hand. Typing takes FOREVER with just my right hand and having to fix ever so many typos; more than the usual amount. Still couldn’t open anything, can’t put pressure on it.

I freaking broke myself.

Log in to write a note