NoJoMo 18 – SNOW

First day of snow! Sadly, nothing stuck around my place, but I have reports that it didn’t melt up at the school.

It was fun to watch through the windows for awhile, and then watch as it moved back up the mountians.

Now, if only it would SNOW all weekend – next week we have Thanksgiving break starting on Wednesday. But I think it would be lovely to have a snowstorm and not have school all next week personally.

I’m getting as bad as the kids, but I need more time to not deal with a specific class…I almost completely lost it on the freshmen yesterday. I finished all of there grades, and the class average was a 58% with exactly 50% of the class failing – with an F below a 25% in my class…Any student who has had me before can tell you it takes a lot of work to fail my classes with as much as I build in to help and support. This is just freaking laziness so pronounced that if this keeps up I will have to teach 2 sections of Freshmen English next year since there is no way to fit 50 kids in my classroom.

Add in the massive pain from whatever I did to my hand earlier in the day (see previous entry) and the daily disrespect from this class made me snap. I actually had to yell for the first time in seven years at a class to be heard over their crap and I was so frustrated and in so much pain I actually threw a stack of papers down on my desk.

This is why I need a week away – just from this one class. I do not like this person they are making me act like. I am NOT this person. I am never like this in any other class, and have never EVER had to yell at a class. Not even when I’ve broken up fights have I had to yell. I’ve had parents threaten me and I have never been this frustrated….

But HEY – it snowed today!

Log in to write a note
November 20, 2011

well hopefully you cure this wicked zombieness.