NoJoMo – 9

Hikau:

Mist on the mountains
Jade gray in the fading light;
dreaming unicorns

I reread one of my favorite books recently, The Last Unicorn. My brother came over yesterday to borrow my old, worn VHS version. Today while I was curled up in pain, Tyler bought me a DVD version of it, that I made him watch with me this evening.

Did you know the bastard are Lionsgate edited to film??? They took out “hell” and “damn” from two different scenes:

Ruhk originally says, “What in hell was there to stop for?” when Mommy Fortuna sees the Unicorn for the first time; now it’s just “What was there to stop for?” – with an awkward pause in the pacing.

When Prince Lir is writing a poem, he comes up the stairs trying to rhyme the word “loss” and goes through several that just do not fit, then he says “Damn” with feeling. The bastards took that out too. . .

Now I understand the “we must protect the children from language” mindset – but trust me, my sailor’s mouth comes from my father, NOT The Last Unicorn

But that aside, I’ve been dreaming unicorns a lot lately. There are parts of this silly children’s film, parts of the book that makes my heart ache. . .

Still hurting, still sick – going to bed. Too much thinking. . .

Log in to write a note
November 9, 2008

I still can’t get over how ‘hell’ and ‘damn’ are seen as such obscene words in the US, they’re considered to be very tame here, when far worse is allowed to be used, from my British viewpoint anyway, in US ‘family’ films.

*hugs* Feel better. ♥