OCEAN! / Edit – Day of FAIL

Boy is taking me and the puppies to the coast today.

I can’t tell who is more excited – me or Obie.

Something was telling us to stay home today. Right after posting those two little happy lines:

Fail One: Today we woke up with an army of ants invading our kitchen. They were coming through two spots at the corners of the window next to the kitchen. Some of the sealant had been worn away. We spent and hour killing and cleaning up ants. THEN we had to wait for our rental company to open so we could call and request pest control – only to get put off because they have to “get permission from the owner of the building” – who by the way lives in California and as he is retired only does business related issues on Mondays…..

We sprayed the window down, put the dogs in the car and left.

Fail Two: Needed to feed my car. Pulled into a gas station and then proceeded to sit there for 20 minutes. We live in a right-to-work state, so that is used as an excused to have gas station attendants to pump your gas for you. You can get a huge fine for pumping your own gas. Okay, I will not begrudge people a job – but only if they are doing their damn job. Flirting with the pretty girl and ignoring everyone else when you work are a large station that gets LOTS of customers is a bad idea.

Car eventually fed – finally on the road to get to the coast. Normally it would take me only less then two hours to get to the beach. It’s about 190 miles from where we live – but I have to drive sanely with boy who gets car sick and dogs who might get car sick on the really twisty road.

Fail Three: About 10-15 minutes from our destination, Obie gets car sick. We hear him burp in the back seat, and turn around to see he has lost his breakfast. At least I had put a blanket down for him in the seat to cuddle with, and that;s what he got. As I was trying to find a place to pull over to clean it up and let him settle, I look back to see he has pulled boy’s extra shirt off the back seat, and he was using it to cover his mess – trying to bury it with his nose.

Okay, that was kind of cute in a gross way.

We pull over at a weigh-side and boy took puppies for a constitution while I cleaned up puppy mess in my car and off his shirt. Yay for keeping extra water in the car.

We eventually make it to the beach, and it starts off okay. We had fun playing with the puppies in the water and collecting shiny rocks (we both have magpie tendencies…..)

That led us to –

Fail Four: We carried water for the dogs so they wouldn’t drink the sea water. Boo did so any way, and every so often after running around playing she would throw it up. She refused to drink normal water every single time we tried to give it to her – she would bound off and drink the sea water again. This lead to little puppy being VERY dehydrated.

We decided to head back because I had slipped on rocks and hurt myself (Yes a fail in an off itself, but not a big one – I hurt myself all the time)

Fail Five: Trying to put Boo back on her harness because we were coming up to people with dogs, she stepped on a bee and get the stinger stuck in her paw. Of course she yowled and was hurting. The end results was boy carried her back to the car half-a-mile away while I followed slower with Obie since I was hurt. Of course Obie was worried and wanted to be with boy and Boo, so he kept trying to run up with them and drag me up there. He actually several times went slack on his leash and stood by me and waited until I passed him and then ran full tilt to the end of his leash to try to pull it out of my hand….35 lbs of corgi nearly dislocated my shoulders.

Fail Six: Obie and I get to the car and boy has cleaned up Boo and removed the stinger. Her paw was swollen and she wouldn’t use it. He finally got her to drink some water and took her into the grass – where she got the runs all over herself and boy….He carried her back down to the beach and waded into the water with her (fully clothed) and washed them both off.

We finally headed home. Boo rode in boy’s lap almost the entire way, shaking from not feeling well. We eventfully made it home where boy immediately changed cloths and took puppies out for a walk and I threw everything in the washing machine.

Fail Seven: Round two of ant annihilation. They had found ANOTHER way in and the counter was covered again. While boy brought e dogs back in and gave them baths to really clean them off from the day, I perpetrated an ant holocaust. I made basic chicken strips for dinner as the boy tried to take care of a sick Boo. She wouldn’t eat, we couldn’t get her to drink water, and she could not stop shaking. He sat with her outside in the still 90 degree heat, and she was okay. She stopped shaking and was able to drink some water.

Fail Eight: Dinner sat out and cooled off. When I went to reheat it in the microwave, ants were coming out of the damn electrical outlets and the light switch near our sink. I grabbed the ant spray and boy RAN to turn off the circuit breaker before I hosed them – good thing he is fast. After cleaning up the poison, and turning the oven back and and reheating dinner, about 9 pm we finally get the dogs okay and were able to eat something.

Something was telling us this morning to stay home. Damn it.

Log in to write a note
July 12, 2010

funky. texas is a right to work state too, and we don’t have any attendants.