Ug

That is all I can say this morning. Ug.

I couldn’t sleep last night because of panic and stress that goes with it. I’m sick as hell because of it; could not keep anything in my stomach last night, which now feels like I’ve been kicked repeatedly with steal-toed boots.

The tongue-in-cheek writing of yesterday got the frustration out, then the panic set it.

I have six days to come up with entirely new units, even if they are only a few weeks long, for every class I teach. I could hit the ground running with the College English, but because of ass-hat ignoring me about the scheduling (AND I have the e-mails to prove I brought this up months ago ALONG with his responses) I either have to force students to take it OR come up with curriculum for an entirely new class for a full year in six days.

AND as I started writing this I got an e-mail from our service department, they found my laptop and I can go directly to their offices to pick it up. They are down in the valley where I live. I need to get “human” and found out where I can go pick it up. Getting my school computer back solves my unit problems for English Skills, 9th, 10th, and 12th grade because then I will have access to what I need for my beginning of year units.

Now because of the books issue I have to come up with something for 11th since the idiots didn’t order my books. I have enough books for all the other classes – with all the students now in that class, I am 15 books short….

How does one laptop make this possible? EVERYTHING I need is on it’s hard drive. All my handouts, all the presentations – and capability to print. The school get rid of overhead projectors in favor of InFocus machines and Document Cameras, all of which run through computers.

The problem was last year the school refused to let me borrow any of the computers from the mobile lab, or the extra laptops in the library while mine was in the shop. My little Netbook has no way to connect to any of these machines or to print.

The printing issue itself was fixed – I finally went out and bought a printer for at home, which helps me print off masters. But during the school day if I needed anything I might have forgotten, I would have been screwed. And I type everything because about 85-90% of my students cannot read cursive AT ALL and that is all I write in.

When I was taught to write I was taught using fountain pens. I actually had an OLD school teacher when I started school – 1st grade we learned cursive calligraphy with fountain pens, and that is all we were allowed to write with; unless it was math work – what has to be perfect because white-out did not exist in her classroom. Now, since I was trained this way EARLY, my penmanship looks atrocious when I write with normal pens; I use calligraphy pens to write anything at all – THEN my students can sort of read it. NOW add in being dyslexic and computer spell check is my friend, when it catches my typos.

Ug. Just bloody Ug. I have to go turn human now so when I found the service department office I don’t look like a walking corpse.

Log in to write a note

Of course you’re getting the rake. I keep it on reserve just for you some times. Doesn’t that make you all warm and fuzzy inside? Now, just sit still and this will be over much quicker. 😀 Fire is a good cleanser, I couldn’t agree more. And the flames lit by my rage and hurt in these last few days have got one Hell of a fire burning right now, that’s for sure. Now it’s time to step into it.

You know, it sucks. I’ve been so lost in my own little world that I’ve not really been reading your entries lately. Just skimming then then replying to whatever notes you’ve left me. Save your one mad entry, that is. Sorry for that. I’ll get back to noting and leaving proper responses soon enough, I promise. 🙂

Special yes, I’ll grant you that one. 🙂 More so than you could possibly realize, actually.

I clicked “Random” and this is what turned up. I’ll admit that I clicked through some boredom before finding anything interesting. Forgive me for saying this just as summer draws to a close, but it sounds like you really need a vacation. Hope the year goes well for you, at least.

August 21, 2010

Bah, human is over rated. Just be a dead-thing, it is easier.