Wandering around

So I was playing with the site this morning – much more fun than doing errands and cleaning. There are some things I miss – and I read that “Friends” and “Favorites” are going to be combined… Not sure how I feel about that because to me “favorites” are Diary’s and writers I enjoy reading, and “Friends” are the people I meet that I eventually come to trust. Oh well, we’ll see how it plays out.

Looking through my old diary entries, I found names I was looking for. Memories of past students, stories I wrote about that recently I have been trying to piece together. After 13 years in the same district, I know my life revolves around my work, because my work is people….

~Tested out the save as draft and lived my life for a day. Came back, and everything still works, and I remembered how to log in!~

I hadn’t realized how much I needed this place. I’ve tried other writing sites, and they didn’t ~feel~ right. There were things I needed to get out of my head, and I haven’t been able to because no place was like here. OD was my first online “safe haven,” the first place I wrote as myself, and it felt like a community, like family. Now that it is coming back, writing seems easier. But I don’t know if I want to write about the things in my head, about the shit that has happened.

I used OD as a way to deal with depression, which came back in force in 2016 after the death of my corgi who was for all intents and purposes my service dog. I used OD as a way to deal with loss, and within 2017 I have lost students – former students, but they will always be my kids. Overdoses, sudden death, and murder, possibly a second one who is currently just listed as “missing.” Personally, my heart cannot take the funeral of another one of my kids.

I don’t talk about any of this. Talking to people still scares the ever-loving-shit out of me. My poor boyfriend – who has put up with me for 10 years for some reason, no idea how or why he loves me – he’s a misanthropic nihilist and doesn’t really understand why I care so much, but he supports me through all of it with the patience of a saint, and he doesn’t know how to help me.

I don’t ever want to talk to my family, because dealing with them triggers the damn depression and anxiety. And I am tired. They still think there is nothing wrong, that I am making it up, that there is no way I can have depression. They pretend it away and try to make me fit inside of a box, an outline of who they think I should be based on the person I pretended to be for the first 18 years of my life simply to survive. I really can’t do this shit anymore.

 

Even writing this much helps. It gets it out of my head – many years ago when I first joined OD, I wrote about thought bleeding out of hands as ink on paper. That must have been sometime in 2004. I will have to go look. But I remember that. I remember a lot. And even though the fog inside of my head, it is a good thing. This is a good thing.

Log in to write a note
November 19, 2017

Oh man, I feel you so much.

a) I also mentioned to him about the lack of division between everyone & friends, and the need to have some time to get to know people before letting them in to the very personal junk in one’s head, haha. He said he would think more about it, he seemed to receptive to the reasoning for the desire. 🙂

b) I’ve tried practically every diary/journal site over the years, and none were right, none of them were home. None ever allowed me the space OD originally gave me back in the day, the space to be myself, freely, without reservation.

3) I feel things deeply too, and I’ve never been comfortable talking to people about stuff. OD was the first place I could ever actually just open up & spill out.

IV) I also deal with anxiety, and I sometimes wonder if I might have mild depression, but eh, I can function so I just push it aside. Because that’s how I roll. Lol. I tried telling my mom about my anxiety years ago, and she was just like, no no everyone deals with X sometimes it’s fine, like, not intentionally dismissive but, failing to grasp it and not wanting to, and so I just dropped it and never mentioned it since. I’ve never attempted to tell anyone else in my rl (aside of my husband knowing lol).