I Cheated

I’ve been reading back through my old entries and I came across an entry from 2008 where I was in Oregon and had run into my ex. I was very adamant that despite the fact that I missed him and still had feelings for him I would never cheat on Dusty. Now here we are 10 years later. Different people. Life is different and I did cheat. Just a few months ago. I knowingly did it. And if we’re being honest I have very few regrets.

It was in July and Angela and I were home in Oregon on vacation without Dusty. We arrived on Wednesday and Friday night we had what was suppose to have been a BBQ but ended up being Pizza instead. Ashley (my childhood BFF) and Jordan (my cousin) where there and Ryan and Dawn (my brother and his wife) and as a surprise I had invited Ryan’s best friend from high school, David and his boys. There’s history there between Ryan and David I mean so if which I didn’t even know about at the time of the invitation but that’s another entry. David and I had reconnected in March (again another entry) and the truth is I was looking for an excuse to see him again. We all visited and David and I had a couple of beers and the kids played. It was nice the most relaxed I’d probably been in years.

Before he had left David had invited me for drinks if I was free later in the week. We had drinks two nights later at his place and I was there late watching John Wayne movies and talking. I was back Monday night and Tuesday night and Wednesday night too.

For the first time in I can’t remember I could breathe. It happened Wednesday night and again Friday.  Leaving Oregon that Saturday night was one of the hardest thing I’ve ever done.

Log in to write a note
February 22, 2018

Life is complicated. It would be so much easier if everything was black and white, cut and dried.